We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A basic hotel for a night in Anchorage” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A basic hotel for a night in Anchorage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just stayed here for the night. There was construction going on. No breakfast - not even continental. You had to buy in the restaurant. The room was basic, slightly larger than what I had expected. The service was ok. When I had to lug my suitcases, a couple of guys from the working staff just stood and watched! Would have been nice to offer to help, even if I could have refused anyway! But then again.. it is a Best Western!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easy_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    156
    89
    19
    14
See reviews for
118
94
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent 3 nights there.
This is the only BW I know which doesn't have breakfast included, but still charging $200 per night. Also no pool/hot tub.
The room was spacious, beds comfortable, no problems with the service.
They keep it very warm inside, so we had to use AC all the time.

Also they have construction going outside now between 8am-4pm, so don't plan on sleeping at that time.
And be careful driving out from the parking lot.

Room Tip: East side - away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Even while being renovated, the staff worked hard to keep everything clean. The front desk was VERY helpful in accommodating us as we kept adding nights on.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liebchen4John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Building is poorly built and we could hear guests above us walking. At 9 am maids began their rounds by talking loudly to each other in the corridor. No pool. No view. Lousy location. Terrible parking. Won't be back. And will never use Hotwire again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here make SURE you are on the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. I had read other reviews and was a little worried. They are residing the building but it did not effect our room. The room was very clean and large enough for my family to be comfortable. The staff was so nice and accommodated all of our request. They did not have continental but the restaurant was very good. Would deffinately stay here again if we ever get to go back to Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We weren't advised of construction when we booked (yes we booked directly). No Continenal Breakfast as there is one of those limited menu restauarants on site. The door squeeked LOUDLY when we opened it and the dresser drawers wouldn't stay closed. It's hard to believe the maids hadn't had them fixed.....impossible not to notice either. On the plus side the hotel will look nice on the exterior then the construction is finished.

Room Tip: Plan on spending thr extra $15-$20 for breakfast as there is nothing real close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpokaneFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

it was nice....they were remodling while i was there, so it was a little noise here and there. otherwise it wasnt bad like i thought it would be....was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shugg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 1000 E 36th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-4304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing