We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Rates but service needs to be improved.”
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Kolkata, India
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Rates but service needs to be improved.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Let me give you the negative sides first. The hotel has a free airport shuttle, that's not a 'great' news because 99% of the hotels in Anchorage have it, so it's nothing very overwhelming. But if you are made to stand in the open air for 90 mins. at Anchorage Airport in sub-zero temperatures and it was snowing incessantly that becomes a matter of concern as it happened with us. Ultimately we had to take a cab and reach the hotel at 12:30pm only to be told by the receptionist that we do not have a booking. After much persuasion and showing our booking papers (done through hotels.com), several times to the receptionist who contacted & consulted others were we told that they have found our bookings. Just one ques, has Ramada become a Training Institute for aspirant receptionists?
We stayed on two occasions in May 2013, the first time they charged us $100 as security deposit, but the second time when we checked in there was no 'security deposit' charges. How can a hotel have different policies for different times (within 3 days) and for different customers (have seen some customers were not charged the security deposit).
Breakfast was below average standards, suits a 1-star lodging, not Ramada. Rooms are large, spacious, with refrigerator and microwaves. Bathrooms adequate, room service excellent, location fantastic.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the backside, the trains will not let you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    221
    215
    118
    51
See reviews for
139
294
93
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was attending a convention which was at an expensive downtown hotel, so I stayed at the Ramada instead. This is the second time I have stayed there and enjoyed it both times. The rooms were clean and large., the staff is friendly and helpful. Also, they will pick you up at the airport if you wish. If you rent a car, which I did, they do not charge for parking, unlike the big hotels. This hotel is an easy walk to downtown where the convention was and also the rail station and the outstanding Anchorage Museum. There is a computer in the lobby which was usually available for quick use. When I was there two years ago in late May, they had a free breakfast, but this time in mid-September, they gave you a $3 discount on breaakfast, which made breakfast cheaper than at nearby restaurants. I shall certainly stay there again if I return, which I hope to do.

Room Tip: I was advised that the back or north side side might be noisy due to the rail yard. Both times I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I got in late on the first night of our vacation to Alaska and booked a night here to crash and get some rest. The room was exactly what you would expect. There was plenty of room for two of us and the bathroom was clean.
The help at the front desk was very warm and accommodating. They answered any and all questions, provided help for navigating the area, and one of the women also cooked breakfast at the Slippery Salmon restaurant next door. I would recommend that hotel and restaurant as a starting or ending point on your vacation. Anchorage isn't a place to visit for a week, but since the airport is in town in makes sense to stay there for at least a day or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at the Ramada Anchorage Inn in September 2013. Our convention was based out of the Hilton Hotel, but the Hilton had no shuttle to the airport and the train station, but cost a good sum. The Ramada was less expensive and had a shuttle to the airport and the train station. During the summer, they have a complimentary breakfast. Off season, they give you a coupon for $3.00 off the meal. There is a single computer guests can use in the lobby area. The service desk personnel were quite friendly. They even put me on the side of the train station and harbor when I asked them to do so. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The only problem was that early one morning, a couple of fighter jets from the local Air Force Base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volunteer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place was great. We were only staying for a night in Anchorage so we didn't want to spend a lot on some of the places closer to the heart of downtown but we really didn't need to. We were picked up promptly by their free airport shuttle, got a room immediately, and were able to walk straight into downtown within 5 minutes. They even took us to the train in the morning, which is only just down the hill from the hotel but with bags, it was a nice luxury to have.

Bonus: the salmon were running on the creek right down the hill from the hotel, where you can sit on the balcony of a restaurant that sits over the creek and watch the anglers reel 'em in all day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.1 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#47 of 73 in Anchorage
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#50 of 73 in Anchorage
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Property: Ramada Anchorage
Address: 115 E 3rd Ave, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing