We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else if possible”
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Anchorage
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The place is dark, dingy and not very clean. Way over priced for what it is. We were very glad that we were not staying longer than one night. The rooms do not look anything like the pictures on the internet. They claim to have a continental breakfast. It was basically coffee, toast and some dried out muffins. One night was $180.00 for a very small room.
The room had one window air conditioner which was practically right over the bed.
The one good thing was the staff and they are very close, as in walking distance to the train station. The staff was very helpful and very very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank kayChicagoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 742 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The worst night I have ever spent in a hotel. We arrived around 1:00 am. The room was sweltering hot with no air conditioning only a fan. We could not open the window because it did not have a screen. There was no relief. The staff was great but they could not be of any help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank wepinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is an older hotel, but it is clean and comfortable and the staff has always been extremely courteous and helpful. For us, it is centrally located to the things that we like to do. I, personally, like the décor. It is reasonably priced and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a place! Windows were screwed shut in dad's room, no locks or screens on my 1st floor window. (Yes, there are lots of mosquito's in Alaska and it did get hot there.) Had a pipe in my window to keep it shut. No working AC's in either room, floors were filthy, sheets were a dingy brown. I hope there weren't any bugs, but I'm not sure. Daytime clerk was very friendly and a discount was given to all guests for breakfast. I would not stay there again. Spend the money to stay at a nicer place. Ramada should remove there name from this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was okay for the price. Rooms were comfortable and reasonably clean. Very friendly staff. Free shuttles to the airport and station - you can either call from the free phones in the airport / station or ask the information people to call for you. Breakfast was in the café next door and has a wide selection of continental options available. Room was quite hot and if you open the window it's a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This review is part of our 1st time 18 day trip to Alaska taken in July 2013. The weather was exceptional and we recommend everybody makes this pilgrimage to a place where you are traveling in art. We chose this place because: complimentary shuttle to/from the airport, train station and bus pick-up point, onsite laundry facilities and name recognition. Since we only stayed short nights on two separate occasions, it met our needs. Probably would not stay here if this were a "home base" for other activities. Coupons were given for the free continental breakfast (useless) or $3.00 off the full breakfast offered by the onsite Slippery Salmon Bar & Grill. Staff was friendly, rooms needed updating.

Room Tip: avoid rooms over looking the Slippery Salmon patio Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is an adequate hotel. When we stayed at places like this in 1975 we thought them the lap of luxury. Ok so the window AC leaked water on the floor. We put a bucket under it. The breakfast was bare minimum, but adequate. Staff was fine and helpful. It has a safe, which other hotels did not. WIFI worked fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#24 of 74 in Anchorage
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#52 of 74 in Anchorage
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#60 of 74 in Anchorage
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Address: 115 East Third Street, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $70 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing