We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no room at the inn.....almost”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“no room at the inn.....almost”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we, along with 2 other couples booked rooms (with confirmed reservation numbers) in March. flew in from boston, long day, checked in at 1:30 local time----not counting 4 hour time zone difference. other two couples....checked in no problem. we were told our room was cancelled by booking agency, Otell.com DON'T EVER USE THEM!!!! despite showing our printed confirmation, we were told the westmark had no room for us. it's now 2:00 a.m. luckily, Chris, the super friendly 6'8" front end night manager, worked some magic, despite a sold out house. room was fine, great location, walked easily to glacier brew pub, and great breakfast spot 3 blocks away...
without the extra effort of chris we would've been sleeping on the couch in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodbob41545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    219
    236
    125
    61
See reviews for
150
347
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has seen its best days and seems to be mostly used by cruise line passengers before or after their Alaska cruise.
Anchorage is a small city where ‘everything’ is within walking distance. So the high score for location is meaningless.
The rooms have an iron, ironing board and coffee maker but no fridge or safe. The latter probably means that most of those cruise line people are lugging their jewels inside their pockets and purses. Good thing that Anchorage is deemed a safe city.
I found the toilet pot curiously low; not easy for the elderly.
The rooms have a small balcony but no chairs. Which is just as well since the balustrade is flimsy.
I found the staff very helpful when we arrived for an early-check-in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

GRANGER
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this property as part of a Holland America cruise trip. The first time in 2011, we were pretty disappointed as the room was small and the property clearly needed updating. It didn't help that we'd stayed at Hotel Alyeska (only 5 star hotel in Alaska) the two nights before, so this was like staying at a Motel 6 in comparison. We actually asked our cruise consultant if there was another place they used, but this was the only choice. Our visit in May was very short as our flight arrived at 10:45 p.m. and by the time we finally got on the bus to be transported there, it must have been midnight. As our bodies were on Eastern Time, I was ready to fall over by the time we got to the room, so I can't say I really noticed the quality. Having to share a full-size bed with my knee injury meant I really didn't sleep the very few hours we had before boarding a bus at 8 a.m. for Seward. We ate in the restaurant, which like everything else in Alaska is extremely overpriced (breakfast was $48 including tip for 3 of us), but the continental version I had was very good and there were plenty of choices. The staff did a good job, but it's definitely a property below par for the rest of a Holland America experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBee46530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was part of our land tour with Holland America. We came in two days earlier to see Anchorage before our tour started. Going in, we knew there were bad reviews on the hotel. However, rather than changing hotels we decided to just stay at the same hotel as the land tour. I had requested a high floor with a view of Mt McKinley. We got the fifth floor. Because of the fires and later the rain, we were not able to see the mountain. Room and hotel were adequate. It does need an update. Front desk staff was wonderful. They were friendly and helped us with our questions. We were told by our friends who live in Alaska that food is very expensive. We thought the buffet breakfast was overpriced ($18); but when you factor in that a McDonalds $1 value menu costs $1.50 in Alaska, then it's not so bad. That was our only meal at the hotel. We went down one block to Starbucks for one of our breakfasts and that was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in room 610 which was a corner room on the sixth floor. Our greeting wasn't overly friendly but was okay. Not like we'd been use to at other places we'd stayed at during our trip through Alaska. The hotel itself looked bit tired and the room was the same. It was clean and a good size with good amenities although it didn't have a fridge! I quite like good showers and this room have a good shower.

Our room overlooked the road and was quite noisy. You could also hear the bathroom noise from the room next door. All not good but you could live with it for the price... it was quite good value.

Location wise it was good. Very central.

Would we stay here again... if it was for one night only.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in three Alaska hotels in our land tour - all of them owned by Holland America. This was the worst of the bunch.

Granted, we didn't get off to a good start. Our train into Anchorage was filled with people ready to head for the hotel, and the buses took off almost in unison. Therefore, there was a big mob arriving at the same time. Although we did get keys ahead of time, the lobby because gridlock instantly. It took several minutes to get to our room, although the bags at least were waiting.

The room was OK, but not exactly ready for prime time. One outlet these days just doesn't cut it. The rooms and the hallways were really old and a bit dirty. It all felt tired.

Downstairs, the main lobby was quite small for an operation of this size. Claustrophobia set in when everyone tried to take a bus to the train around the same time. It was a bit staggered, but still it was a pile-up. We didn't try the restaurant, walking outside the front door to find food for breakfast and dinner.

It is a fine location downtown, and the staff was trying hard, it seemed. Still, I would not tell people who had a choice to stay there. Poor is a bit of an extreme rating, but average probably is too high.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BBailey182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crosswicks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here as part of Holland America Cruise. This was the land portion. Room was in need of major redo. Rugs stained and dirty, old pillows, bathroom clean but outdated.
Lobby small for the busloads of people that are waiting in the morning. We were in the hallway because it was misting outside.

Room Tip: ask of they have an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing