We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our return from Denali. Great location close to shops. We arrived early and they upgraded us to a room that was ready. It was a double, very spacious, great balcony with a great view. Would definitely recommend if you want to be in the centre of Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Sue M

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay here at the Westmark Anchorage, as you say we are very well located, right in the heart of downtown and close to everything! we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Alaska and have a great rip back to home.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    227
    257
    135
    69
See reviews for
162
374
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here in March and had a great stay. It was more bang for your buck staying there, the location and ease of finding the hotel made my trip much more easy. The hotel had plenty of great places to eat just across the street or within a half mile walking distance and if you dont feel like going out the restraunt in the lobby was delish (great breakfast). The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable (normally everyone dreads sleeping on a hotel bed and flat pillows but thats not the case here). The staff was great always welcoming you and saying have a good day when you came and went (its the little things that matter most). One staff member I believe his name was Alex was a huge help giving us great advice on places to eat and see while in town and even took the time to help us with our bags out to the car when we were in a hurry. We will be staying again and again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToooomofDoooom .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Toooomof doooom

That is an interesting name you have there! Thank you so much for giving us a 5 rating on your stay with us, Alex is just a great asset to the Hotel and we are delighted that you took the time to single him out for special mention, we put all of our guest emails up on the board in our staff Cafeteria for all to see and our team really enjoys reading comments such as yours! It also goes a long way in picking our employee of the month! We are so glad your family enjoyed themselves and we hope we get to see all of you again soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Alex and Timoti were amazing. Made the trip completely worth it. Highly recommend!!!! The rooms was comfortable and the location was fantastic. Close to everything. I would stay here again for sure. Ordered room service and it was hot and fresh and the delivery prob was nice and friendly. They went above and beyond for me. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Phillylena

What a great email to see first thingf Monday morning!, thank you so much for taking the time to write to us and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Westmark Anchorage. I have also passed along your kind words to Alex & Timoti, both of whom do such a great job with all of our guests. We hope we get to see you again real soon

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our first visit to Alaska and were made very welcome by the staff at the front desk,
In fact they would be by far the most helpful and friendliest we have come across in eight weeks of travel. Alex Solat went so far as to make phone enquiries on our behalf, his local knowledge and suggestions were spot on. The rooms were very comfortable and well maintained, and the hotel is well situated being central. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on a higher floor, spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ann F

Thank you for your kind words regarding Alex at the Front Desk, while is is new he has taken to the position and really enjoys working here at the Westmark Anchorage, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay although you only giving us a three rating is a little dissapointing to us, but that just means we need to try harder next time you come to stay with us.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Decent stay, older hotel but all was OK. Wifi was free and strong. Walking distance to everywhere you'd want to go. Only quibble is that because I was stopping over before an international trip, I had some documents that could have used a safe. There were no in-room safes, and the hotel safety deposit was only available if you used it between 9 am and 5 pm M-F which didn't quite work for me because I checked out over the weekend, so I just toted the items around. Keep that in mind of you stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Elby C

Got your email, so sorry we were not able to secure your items at the time you needed it. We are putting in a new safety Deposit box system and we while we were able to secure items they would not have been available to you 24 hours a day, it was only for the few days while we were installing the new unit! but Murphy's law, it was while you were with us! glad you enjoyed the Hotel and what we have to offer, hope you enjoy your trip abroad and we hope to see you when next you visit Anchorage.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had a wonderful time at the Westmark hotel while visiting Alaska. The staff is a big reason why my stay was so memorable. There were two members of the staff ( Carol and Timoti ) that went above what I would consider the normal worker. They both had a huge heart for giving! I asked for information about a particular club and Carol not only gave me that information but went on the internet to look up the information and gave me a printed copy of what she found. Timoti was just as kind. The caring nature of the staff is what makes this hotel a place worth checking out. They really seem to care about each individual guest and that attitude is what makes me want to come back time and time again. A+ for effort!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Jon B

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest stay here at the Westmark Anchorage, we are all delighted that you enjoyed it so much, we do try to get to know all of our Guests and to see if we can make their stay special and it is great to read that you singled out Carol and Timoti for extra attention. We will post your comments on our staff message board for all to see. Hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Wow! When my wife and I checked in, we found that we were upgraded to a suite. We had two balconies. The room was great, clean and quiet. The front desk staff was excellent, as was everyone else connected with this hotel. If we ever get back to Anchorage, this is the place we will stay. My wife and I walked around downtown and saw all the "tourist traps" as well as the shops for locals. Thanks, Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cprinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear cprinkc

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, when ever we can we like to upgrade guests and let then enjoy the Suites that we have, it was our pleasure to do this for you, thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We hope we get to see you again soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
264 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
455 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
375 reviews
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing