We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the heart of it all”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hotel in the heart of it all”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff, the location...the price! Great deal for a downtown hotel. Enjoyed the friendly staff, and the proximity to so much of what we were in town to see. The only issue is parking. If you have your own car, good luck finding a spot in the summertime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevbatt, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear JV
Its great to hear from you and how much you enjoyed your stay, we all pride ourselves here at the Westmark Anchorage on making sure we provide a happy stay for all of our guests, I also wanted to let you know that begining in May we have been able to negotiate a new parking arrangement that will provide increased parking for all of our guests year round.Again thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we look forward to you staying with us again when next you are in Anchorage.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    219
    236
    125
    61
See reviews for
150
347
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Part of my job requires a monthly in-service meeting for 40-75 people. It's important in the winter time to change locations so our attendees are familiar with various locations around town. We were looking for a space that would meet our size needs without being cavernous, and provided a somewhat intimate setting. When the Westmark agreed to host the in-service, it was discussed what was needed: round tables, water and A/V screen for my projector. When I arrived prior to the meeting to set up my projector, I was very pleased with what I encountered. Yes, the Westmark staff had set up the round tables and the registration table. Yes, they had set up the screen and provided ice water. IN ADDITION, they had dressed the tables beautifully, as well as provided fresh, hot-from-the-oven cookies for the attendees. The folks attending are volunteers for a member organization, so it meant all the more that the Westmark staff would go above and beyond to treat them well! The room was set up well in advance, tables dressed and amenities provided. Way to go, Westmark and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you're looking for an intimate venue to host a meeting, the Westmark has the perfect rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BgC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevbatt, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear BcG2

Greatr to hear from you and all of us are so happy you had your meetings here with us at the Westmark Anchorage, we pride ourselves on providing profesional, friendly service not just in our Rooms and Restaurants but in our Meeting and Function facilities as well. I am so pleased to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations, we always try to make all of the events here special. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely.
Kevin Batters

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne Bay, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am a vet who travels to Anchorage for medical treatment. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The ONLY downfall is that the restaurant's food is not good. period. The good side is that there are lots of restaurants across the street and around the area. It's the only place I want to stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevbatt, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Christina J

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying here with us at the Westmark Anchorage Hotel and also your assement of the Food, we are getting ready to change the menus. based on feed back from our guests and I do hope that when next you come back into town and stay with us you try the new menu and let us know how it is. All of us look forward and enjoy the many veterans who come to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Kevin B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spend on average of one night a week in Anchorage and always stay at Westmark when I do. I use a wheelchair and the rooms are very accessible. The staff isn't your typical clueless, could care less people. The staff at Westmark seem to actually care about their job and the people that stay there. On a plus, they just put in new mattresses, so you definitely wake up feeling better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevbatt, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Deat Matt T

Great to hear from you and we are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Westmark Anchorage Hotel, it is always a pleasure to have the oppotunity to provide accomodations to our fellow Alaskans. The new Beds are proving to be very popular with all of our guests along with the increased speed of our free internet service throughout the Hotel.We hope to see you back here soon.

Yours Sincerely
Kevin Batters, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just recently went to anchorage alaska to see the iditerod. This is a very central location and is close to all the shops and restaurants in downtown. there is a restaurant inside and the staff there is great. They have wireless internet in all the rooms as well as a free computer with internet downstairs so the clients can use it.

Room Tip: ask for a view o thwe ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Cat330

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our Hotel, all of our team here at the Westmark Anchorage deeply appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The iditarod is such an exciting time and we are very fortunate that the Hotel is so well placed for people to watch the start of the race to Nome almost from their balconies if they wish. We do hope that you will return again in the near future and look forward to being your home from home when you next vist.

Yours Sincerely
Kevin Batters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent 8 nights in conjunction with Road Scholar program at this Westmark in Anchorage. The staff was SO welcoming and went out of their way to make sure our group (and as indiiduals) had ever need met. I will stay there again!

Room Tip: Room was on 12th floor. Good view of the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeebeans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Coffeebeans8

Thank you so much for your oustanding comments regarding your stay and on all of the Team working at the Hotel, The staff here at the Westmark Hotel take great pride in getting to know are Guests and making sure that we do everything we can to make them feel welcome and comforatable. We look forward to seeing you back and please ask for me when you arrive so that i can introduce myself.

Kevin Batters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing