We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed and No Breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #31 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed and No Breakfast...”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am a student who had to stay in Anchorage for 5 weeks for a rotation at ANMC hospital. Camai B&B offered a very comfortable and clean room to stay in for 5 weeks. The best part was that it was only a 10 minute walk to the hospital.

However, hospitality was DEFINITELY an issue!!! When we arrived, we were not specifically told what would and would not be provided to us during our stay. We assumed that since this is a bed AND BREAKFAST, we would be provided breakfast. When we told Caroline about our schedules so that she can have breakfast ready by the time we leave (as stated that we should do in our guidebook in the room), she responded with "I am not going to cook for you." That was a bit cold, I thought. She stated that we are her house guests, and we do not get breakfast. Ummm...okay....you could have made that point clear when we first arrived. Another thing was toilet paper. We ran out of toilet paper, and when I went to ask her for more, she laughed loudly and said "I knew it. I bet Craig that you would be asking for toilet paper. We do not provide it." WTF?? Ummm okay, so now you're BETTING on us instead of telling us that you do not provide it? Right. Real good service right there. Actually, that isn't even service, that is just plain RUDE and uncalled for, especially for an "Award winning bed and breakfast" owner! I have never encountered such a distasteful person as Caroline. Craig was nice during our stay, however, he was a bit creepy to the younger girls....if you know what I mean, such as offering to go in the hot tub one on one with one of the young girls who was also staying there during our stay. Creepy.

Finally, when we first arrived, we were also asked for a cleaning deposit. So we would get that cleaning deposit back if we cleaned the suite before we left. Well, I only found out after our stay from other students who stayed there previously that they were never asked to leave a cleaning deposit OR clean the room after their stay. Why were we charged? I mean I do not mind cleaning up after myself, that is common courtesy. However, I used the disinfectant wipes that were provided by Caroline to wipe down the counter tops. When she came to inspect the room, she felt the counter top and said in a disgruntled tone "not clean." Just those two words, "not clean." Am I your servant? I sure felt like I was being treated like one!! Woman, I used YOUR disinfectant wipes. After that, I used a paper towel damped with water and wiped the counter. Then she approved of that. Caroline also told us that we should be THANKFUL that she is giving us our cleaning deposit back. Right.

Also, they inspect your trash. You read correctly, they INSPECT YOUR TRASH!!! Not that I had anything to hide, it was just weird. I know this because I threw away some un-opened food, and the next day she told me that I shouldn't waste food and that i should donate it.

FUTURE CUSTOMERS BEWARE!!! This place is probably NOT as clean as it looks because she only wants things cleaned with WATER and not any other ANTI-BACTERIAL or disinfectant products!!!!!!!!!! I will NEVER EVER stay there OR recommend anyone stay there if they are in their right minds! I am thankful that I never have to deal with them again!

Room Tip: The peony suite has super loud creaking pipes that make it very hard to sleep. The rose suite is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STO411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmAkHello, Owner at Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I regret that your stay was not one you recall with pleasant memories. As an inspected and approved member of Anchorage Alaska Bed and Breakfast Association, I welcome you to contact them with your complaint. But first, may I respond to several of your points?

To assist students such as yourself, we created a housing option that provides affordability. As a way to do that, we ask that you take care of amenities such as breakfasts and daily cleaning. In our discussion at the time of taking your booking, this was communicated. For a long term stay during the off-season for students, we offer our B&B – our home – under these terms. We have learned from experience to request a cleaning deposit and find it a good incentive for most student guests.

Because we have provided lodging for a number of years, our projection of quantities needed (toilet paper, cleaning supplies, etc. ) are historically accurate and are the basis of what was provided to you. You are correct in that we asked that you care for certain items like the antique marble counter-tops in specific ways, and that other surfaces are treated with the disinfectant products.

Your allegations regarding Craig’s behavior and the possibility of trash inspection are distasteful and are, at best, based on misunderstanding. Our apology is offered with hopes that your future stays at B&Bs are more to your liking.

Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
10
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. We had the Fireweed suite on the lower level and it was private, clean and comfortable. Carol does a nice breakfast but does not take half your morning. Yard is beautiful and reflects Carols gardening expertise. Can be a little hard to find at first but convenient to downtown and airbase. We would return for sure!

Room Tip: The Fireweed suite is best if you like privacy and want a kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Space was fine. We had the Peony suite, which was cute and cozy. The linens, towels, etc. weren't quite "luxury" as stated on the website, but whatever - it was all there and clean. Price was good for what we got.

It is run by a working couple, so keep that in mind - they can't offer as much flexibility in checkin times as you might get at a hotel, and you may have to move your car if you park them in.

BUT - Given the good reviews on this website, I was surprised at how the owners behaved. My mother died during our stay, and I asked for a late check-out the next day so that I could make funeral arrangements. I got a heavy sigh and a disgruntled "well HOW late?". I was expecting that even if they couldn't accommodate me, they'd at least be nice about it, maybe throw in a "Sorry for your loss" - that's just basic human decency, right? I would have been taken aback by their attitude even in normal circumstances, which these were not.

Forget them. I certainly won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Since we had a polio survivor traveling with us, Carol brought our breakfast to our room. Although, the Camai is not ADA compliant, Carol made sure our accommodations met our requirements. Carol is a master gardener and an excellent cook, Rick enjoyed picking golden raspberries outside our door with her permission. Quiet residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurtriptoAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Camai is the cleanest B&B we stayed in during our recent trip. The rooms were quite nice and there was plenty of space. They offer wifi & a TV in each room, plus a private bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and Caroline even made a special gluten free meal for my husband which he devoured rather quickly. We didn't spend a lot of time at the B&B other than for sleeping and breakfast, but had a pleasant time. Like some of the other raters listed, the walls seem kind of thin so you can hear activity from each of the rooms, but luckily it was fairly quiet while we were there. The location is in the middle of a development so if you aren't expecting that, be prepared. It seems to be a more common theme in Alaska that took us getting used to. We typically stay at B&B's when traveling to the New England area and are used to them being on a larger plat of land and/or right inside town limits, but the B&B's in Alaska are often hidden in the middle of a development... not a bad thing, just not expected. We enjoyed our stay at Camai. The beds were comfortable (though a little noisy when turning over) and the furniture decor was antique looking in our room. It was a nice touch.

Additionally, if you need handicapped accommodations, one of the rooms is handicap accessible by a long ramp.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

With only 5 days to spend in Alaska, we chose Camai Bed and Breakfast. The owners were helpful, friendly and very accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. Some days we didn't even need to eat lunch! The room was very comfortable. I would recommend the Peony suite. Having a fridge, microwave and toaster oven was great for heating leftovers and storing our own snacks and drinks. Craig even did our wash for us. We met several wonderful people over breakfast, too. I thought the location was perfect. It was easy to get into the downtown area and to Seward Highway to travel to attractions north and south of the city. The guests above us were a little noisy, but we were only there at night and although we didn't use it, there is a "white noise" machine to mask sound outside our room. Thank you, Caroline and Craig. We will definitely come back someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent two nights at Camai, and it's a good place to stay. The hosts are friendly and the breakfasts are really excellent. The location is a little hard to find, and it's in a crowded residential neighborhood, but once in the room it was just fine. Really nice bedding and everything was really clean. Highly recommended!! David

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
3.7 mi away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#4 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maria's Creekside B&B
Maria's Creekside B&B
#17 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.2 mi away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#16 of 127 in Anchorage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Walkabout Town B&B
Walkabout Town B&B
#11 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
5.5 mi away
Frenchy's Adventure Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 3838 Westminster Way, Anchorage, AK 99508-4834
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing