We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Lived in Ak for 28 yrs never stayed at Cap't Cook. Being gone 18yes and staying at the hotel was really cool. We loved feeling like a 1St class tourist in our old home town. Rooms May not be brand new but the vintage history is rich. Just loved it allllll♥♥

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randynina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear randynina,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We love taking care of our fellow Alaskan's even if you moved away for a bit. We look forward to you next visit and take care.

p.s. Where's the snow?

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Captain Cook
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had an excellent time at The Hotel Captain Cook from the time my taxi dropped me off at the welcoming front door to the the time the hotel shuttle drove me to the airport to go home.

The staff we extremely friendly (Doorman, sommelier, waiters, front desk, bartenders, concierge etc.).

The food and drinks were excellent. I had cocktails in the Whales Tail and dinner in the Crows Nest.

The room was extremely clean and very spacious. The bed was heavenly and after a long hike on a glacier it was exactly I needed to end the day.

The location was also great. We were able to walk to restaurants, bars, shopping, and museums.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Ryan G,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to provide an amazing stay. The comments about the staff really hit home. We try very hard each and every day to have a positive impact on every guests stay. We're here smiling, then you smile back at us, and you can feel the genuine comfort and satisfaction. It's rewarding to establish rapports with our valued guests and we look forward to seeing you again. Dress warm, winter is coming.

p.s. Halloween is tomorrow. What's the cool costume this year?

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was surprised. Came to town with my wife to celebrate her birthday, and had another couple along. We booked our room expecting the usual excellent experience, but were let down right from the beginning.

Our room was right next to the elevator (perhaps better converted to a storage closet for all of the noise at all hours), and when we came into the room there was a banana peel on the pillow, a duffle bag on a bed, and other items still all over the room. We left immediately, and went to the desk.

The desk clerk apologized, but then simply asked us to wait while they sent for another cleaning. It was 4:00pm. We wanted to get settled and ready to go out for my wife's birthday dinner, but, rather than simply assigning us a new room, they made us wait for 40 minutes in the lobby. This was a rather unwelcome wait, and not the customer service we were used to from previous stays here.

In visits past, our visits were matched dollar for service. This visit's price was much more than the hotel we stayed in the previous night. We didn't make it from Homer to Anchorage the first night, and wanted to have this (usually) excellent, centrally located, safe and clean hotel as our stay for this important weekend.

Even on checkout the desk clerk was apathetic about our reiteration of our poor experience. Thinking that we might perhaps see the excellent treatment and accommodation we were expecting, based on our previous stays with the Captain Cook, we were floored by what happened. I shouldn't have to feel like I needed to talk to a manager. Your staff should all be empowered to deal with this situation better, and we should not have had to wait as long as we did for our room at that time of day.

Will we stay again? Perhaps. But for the first time ever, we will be looking for other options in the area instead of just booking here. All of the other visits have been "Excellent", but this one is even a stretch at "Average", and is only such a review because I know what you and your staff are capable of.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Jay V,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize that we didn't provide the same stellar stay that your used to. Consistency is paramount in showing guests that not only can we provide a great stay with excellent service that "matches dollar for dollar" for value but also do it each and every time no matter how long it's been since your last visit. We will definitely correct our mistakes and I promise we are taking your comments very seriously and look forward to improving in all areas. I would like to speak with if you have. Please email me at guestservices@captaincook.com. Thank you and I look forward to your email.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a total of 4 rooms for my daughters wedding. Different tastes and likes and we all agreed on the comfortable beds and clean rooms. Very nice. We did not request to be close but we were all in the same tower. We used self park and valet and extremely happy with both. The hotel is located down town close to everything. Pool closes early so we were never able to use it and use of it would have been nice but no complaint. Door men and valet service was awesome
We had breakfast 2 times and that was very good. The wait staff was very accommodating as our breakfast table grew from 2-13!! Really enjoyed this hotel and will defiantly be back

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Tatje D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Tatje, D,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and we're happy to see you and your family had such a good time while staying with us. Wedding parties are a blast. Everyone is excited, nervous, over caffeinated, and ready to be part of a very special occasion. We are honored that you chose to stay with us during such a memorable time and we look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight as part of a Princess Land Tour pre-cruise. I suppose every big city has a hotel which is an institution and this certainly felt like it was Anchorage’s. As we come from Captain Cook country we liked the theme of the hotel with all the accompanying artwork and teak wood finishes. However, the rooms were very traditional for our taste - more country club style. We had asked for a twin room but were allocated a room with one queen bed which was very small. Went back to reception (along with two ladies in the next door room who had encountered the same problem). Staff were very helpful and immediately swopped our room but we were now in another tower i.e. the same one which occupies the Crow’s Nest dining venue on the top floor but on the 4th floor. This room was marginally bigger and the bathroom was very compact but not really a problem for an overnight as everything was clean and functional. The biggest problem was that the room overlooked the street and the windows were not insulated from traffic noise which at that level was quite audible. Also we were quite close to the lift which seemed ancient (one lift shaft was out of order) and the other was quite noisy you could hear it throughout the night going up and down. So did not get the good night’s sleep I was looking forward to having flown from London via Seattle but did not feel like going all the way back to reception to swop rooms again!

Visited the Crow’s Nest & bar but did not end up eating there as we had already had lunch at Fletcher’s (which was fine) whilst waiting for our room to become available. The views were spectacular from up there and it seemed to attract a number of people from the local business community. The ground floor area had several boutique type shops to browse and one that sold bits and pieces which you may have forgotten to pack. We were warned by our transfer bus driver that anything in Anchorage would cost 3 times more than the lower 48 - even a toothbrush so try not to forget anything! One thing to be aware of, as we had forgotten some medication and needed to visit a pharmacy is that apparently there isn’t one in the downtown area - the nearest being a taxi ride away which was somewhat surprising. Apart from that the hotel was in walking distance of a number of good restaurants, shops and anything else you might want to do in the downtown area. As this was part of a tour for us I am not sure whether it represented value for money or not. Neither did we have time to establish whether it was the better than any other hotels on offer. Would I return? Not until I have checked out the opposition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the lifts if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear yorkietrav,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'd like to take this time to address your comments in a positive way.

Your reservation with us, which was booked through your tour company, was for a room with a King Bed. We do not have rooms with queen beds. I am happy to see we switched you to a room with 2 Double Beds to better fit your needs.

The elevators in Tower 3 are brand new 2013 models and the last one is being modernized as we speak. I apologize about the street noise. Sometimes the late night Anchorage downtown fan club chooses to have too much fun.

We want every guest to have a an amazing stay throughout and we will definitely look into each area for improvement. Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

my favorite place to stay.
never had a bad experience at this hotel.
some may complain about the cost of rooms and parking being a little high, and sometimes i agree, but most of the time i think that it's worth it.

Room Tip: find a corner room for best views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Buxxx,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and we're pleased to be able to provide another great stay. Being consistent with each and every stay is something we take pride in. We cherish the opportunities to take care of our locals and can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Whittier to join a Cruise. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to most things in the City. We have stayed here previously a number of years ago and were impressed on the rooms fittings being up to date and obviously renovated. The room was very clean and comfortable. We found the Staff very helpful and it was generally a good place to stay.

Room Tip: A suite is the way to go.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Bob S,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to provide you with a great stay. It's always nice to return to a place you're comfortable with and seeing the changes over the years you've noticed we've done some updating and remodeling which has been well received. We look forward to many more visits throughout your travels and I hope you have a great time in Australia. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
576 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,574 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $162 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing