We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Captain Cook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Whittier to join a Cruise. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to most things in the City. We have stayed here previously a number of years ago and were impressed on the rooms fittings being up to date and obviously renovated. The room was very clean and comfortable. We found the Staff very helpful and it was generally a good place to stay.

Room Tip: A suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bob S,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to provide you with a great stay. It's always nice to return to a place you're comfortable with and seeing the changes over the years you've noticed we've done some updating and remodeling which has been well received. We look forward to many more visits throughout your travels and I hope you have a great time in Australia. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    619
    196
    59
    40
See reviews for
304
695
62
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my second stay for five days at the Captain Cook in Anchorage. The hotel is in a very favorable location near all the downtown sights. The staff is outstanding - highly knowledgeable especially the concierge desk. Food in the lobby restaurant is reasonable quality especially for breakfast with fine lox and bagels. The bar has a short but tasty menu. The rooms are very adequate in size - we stayed in a junior suite with beautiful views of the bay. Overall a great focal point for your trip to one of the most beautiful places on the globe - Alaska!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with good views and stay in a junior suite at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparksky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sparksky,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we pleased to provide an outstanding stay for you on multiple trips. It's always special to hear about our staff. We truly care about our guest's experience and providing helpful information with any questions you might have while staying with us is something we take pride in. We can't wait to see you again, take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
352 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week while attending a conference being held at the hotel. The front desk staff and concierge desk personnel were always very friendly and personable. At check in we were advised that the hotel was completely booked due to several conferences taking place. When we arrived at our room (at about 1am local time) we found a king bed - a problem since our reservation was for 2 beds as there were 4 of us (2 adults, 2 children). The front desk was able to have maintenance bring us a rollaway bed, but could not change our room to 2 double beds due to the capacity issue. The rooms seem dated, the decor seems old, but we found the room to be clean. We chose to park across the street at a public parking garage rather than valet, but you can bring the parking ticket to the hotel and they can transfer it on your hotel bill if you'd like. We found this to be very easy for coming/going out of the garage.

The location is very good for downtown Anchorage, many restaurants, bars, a mall and stores are easily within walking distance. There are several nice stores located on the ground floor within the hotel, along with the restaurant. We did not try the "Crows Nest" on the top floor, but you can see the menu by the elevator if you're interested.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Lochdubh_Travelers,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased you enjoyed your week long stay with us while attending your conference. In most cases a travel planner makes your reservations for conference attendees and sometimes details don't make it to us until check in (4 people instead of 2), thus causing an issue with not having enough bed space upon arrival. I am very happy to see we were able to accommodate immediately. If you ever make it back to Anchorage I would like to personally handle your reservations so we can insure that more than enough adequate space is available for your family. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillingham, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Anchorage at it's finest! The location is ideal if you like to take scenic walks with inlet views along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail just a short jaunt down the hill. The shopping is a few short blocks in the opposite direction. Downtown pubs offer live entertainment and great food options. The hotel offers a spa equipped with a clean nice sized pool for laps, exercise equipment to suit anyone's needs, a jacuzzi, a sauna, and a steam room. The steam room was exceptionally wonderful. I had only great interactions with the employees on staff. What more could anyone desire?

Room Tip: I like the corner rooms with one king bed. The view is spectacular with windows on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Teresa D,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Love the review. The whole package is what we want all guests to experience. Taking care of your every need is something we value and being able to provide an effortless stay with options to explore any avenue that you desire is rewarding.
The staff thanks you for all your great comments and we'll see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was the end of a 13 day journey on a Princess Cruise Tour. It was more what those of us from the lower 48 would expect from a top notch hotel. Service was great, room was wonderful...just like a great hotel you would expect to find in Chicago. It didn't have the Alaskan charm of the interior hotels that we stayed in, but it was a welcome at the end of the long trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2596982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear 2596982,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Very nice review. After traveling so far to reach AK and find so many welcoming faces along the way to help ease your travels, it's nice to be able to cap it off with great service and a good nights sleep. If you're ever back we'd love to share another great experience with you.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you fly to Alaska for a quick look around do not be put off by this pricey but very good hotel. First of all most of the Glacier tours leave from the front door. This means you can have breakfast and avoid getting up in the middle of the night. It also means that you can avoid taking cabs around Anchorage, and I considered that a plus.
The hotel itself is easily as good as a four star hotel in the lower 48. It has enough bars and restaurants with hours to satisfy most travellers. We had a room (suite) in one of the top floors and the service was excellent. We arrived on a late flight from Seattle, the hotel provided transportation from the airport and our midnight arrival caused no fuss at all from the staff. The bar was open and also served very good meals.
Our Glacier tour left at about 9:00 am the following day and the bus provided a scenic and comfortable trip to the coast.
We arrived back at the hotel about 7:00 pm, had a very good dinner and a great night's sleep in a quiet room with an excellent bed. There was good shopping to be had right at the hotel, and by the way there is a liquor store right across the street.
We left that day, and once again the hotel provided transportation to the airport.
If you're pressed for time, flying, and staying at the Captain Cook is a very good option. This is particularly so if you find cruises a hassle.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter. Make sure you book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DRFM,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your honest and in depth review of our Hotel and it's our pleasure to provide a warm and comfortable stay. You said it all. Location,
amenities, service, that's the foundation of our property and we look forward to continuing to challenge ourselves to strive and reach higher goals. Take care an we'll see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I enjoyed every inch of it, checked in late with no hassle.
But I think I left one of my favourite shirt in the room, they never reach me back..I didnt call em on purpose to see how they raise their service and hospitality..but thats OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Dody C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. I am very happy to see you enjoyed "every inch of your stay". Sorry you forgot your shirt. I would love to help return your item back to you. Please send me an email at guestservices@captaincook.com so I can figure out some more info and help locate your lost item. Look forward to your email. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing