We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overnight stay in Anchorage”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay at the Captain Cook was only one night, out of convenience with our 1am arrival into Anchorage. We found the lobby area to be very nice and the staff were all very courteous. The hotel could use some updating, otherwise it falls into the "historic" category. We opted for the 2 bedroom suite which was located in the corner of the building on the 11th floor. While the IDEA of the suite is good, the actual layout is very strange and impractical. The middle "room" is a living area with a wet bar, and the doors are actually locked between all rooms (I had to go back downstairs and ask them to send someone up to unlock the interior doors); thus making this just 3 seperate hotel rooms they call a "suite". The beds were surprisingly comfortable. All in all a comfortable stay, especially arriving at 1am after 9 total hours on a plane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Stephanie T,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased we were able to provide a nice stay. The 2 Bed Room Executive Suites are quite popular for our guests that travel with larger families or for those who are looking for more space. Having 3 separate rooms, 1 King Bed, 2 Double Beds, and 3 full bathrooms these suites make for a very comfortable experience. Glad to see you enjoyed the soft beds and if you're ever back this way from Texas we'd love another opportunity to take care of you and your family.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    637
    202
    59
    42
See reviews for
318
711
66
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A really nice Hotel.
Woodwork is spectacular.
Was NEVER not greeted by an employee at anytime, incredible.
Almost all engaged at some level of small talk but definitely open and sincere.

Obviously built when Hotels were there to make a statement.
Nice, large, very vice bars, lots of gift shops, well located downtown.

This place caters not only to the tourist industry but also to business.

I don't think it needs restoration by any means.
The place is spotless.
It is nice to go into a Hotel that is not a cookie cutter design to every other hotel in the world.

The Hotel is quiet but downtown is noisy, and the noise works its way up to the rooms.
Not much you can do about that.
But the view is worth it.

Not another Hotel in town can compare to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunandSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear SunandSkiers,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. What a nice review. We are so pleased that you not only enjoyed your stay but the overall look of the Hotel as well. We believe the hand crafted designs and attention to detail really add character and a uniqueness that is both warm and very classy. Making sure our staff is available and on point to help with all guest questions and needs is something we train daily. We're looking forward to seeing you again and thank you!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I returned to The Hotel Captain Cook after a 10 year absence. Anchorage seemed the same but the Captain Cook had changed. The staff seemed more in sync to the service experience. A pleasant and helpful bellman, a smiling desk clerk and service staff that new how to solve problems with rooms, cars and frozen fish. This is the kind of service I expect at a hotel. I look forward to return the next time I am in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and it was a pleasure to be able to provide such a great say. Comfortable beds, quality amenities, and smiling helpful faces are here for all future guests. We will keep striving to exceed guest expectations and we all look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived a day early for our Princess cruise, and found the hotel to be pleasant, but not 5-star. The location is great, and very handy to all the goings-on in downtown Anchorage. (Warning: ANC on a Friday night is VERY popular!) We had a room overlooking the bay --- our companions were in the other tower overlooking the air conditioning units. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were divine, and the other amenities were ... standard. I understand that any business in Alaska must make its profit during the summer months, and The Hotel Captain Cook is no exception. Quite pricey for what you get. I wasn't disappointed, but I wasn't overwhelmed. Thus the 3-star rating. The entire hotel is in serious need of an update ... rather dark and dated, as previous comments have mentioned.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Anne C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Glad to see you enjoyed the view of the bay from your room. Summer time in Alaska is our peak season and prices are high all over the state. We are always challenging ourselves to provide value to ever guests stay. We are constantly updating the Hotel and we look forward to what the future holds. Take care and we'll see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel seems to be the center of life in Anchorage. With touristy souvenir shops, bustling restaurants and even a lively salsa exhibition, all Anchorage seems to decend on the Captain Cook. As a place to stay, however, it feels rather dated and in need of restoration. We had the misfortune of a room right by the elevator, which made for a noisy and restless night. The hotel, to their credit, were apologetic, and gave a substansial discount, but do avoid these rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room by the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
ploughman1,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor family. The Hotel can be a main attraction for both out of state visitors and also local residents. With the multitude of shops, restaurants, and event space there can be salsa exhibitions, business meetings, weddings and more. We welcome all guests to come in and see us and we truly appreciate you visiting our Hotel. I apologize about the noise in your room and I was very happy to see we were able to remedy the situation. If you're ever back in AK we'd love another opportunity to provide a great stay. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were housed in the Cook at the end of our Princess Cruisetour and found it very nice. There are many sights within a short walk and a terrific information center just 4 blocks away where you can get lots of help (and a free shuttle to several attractions). Our room was excellent, as was the service. If you're on a budget you may find the cafe and restaurant a little pricey ($10 for pancakes) but there are other choices not far away.

Room Tip: Certain towers have a view of Mt. McKinley (should it choose to show itself!) so ask about that if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNWsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
PNWsnowbird,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel. Providing a central location in heart of downtown with prompt and genuine service is the foundation for a safe and comfortable stay. With great leadership we continue to challenge ourselves and look to always improve. Thank you for your feedback and we'll see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent one night at the Captain Cook and enjoyed it. The hotel has two towers and some nice views of Anchorage. It is close to the bay, and we hiked a few blocks down to the bike trail that runs along the railroad and the water. It was a great view of the bay and the mountains.

It is also near several good restaurants and stores. We were on a Princess land and cruise tour, and this was the beginning of the land portion, after we flew into Anchorage. The hotel had set up a special area for the Princess desk, where we could go with questions on the trip.

The hotel had a number of little shops on the main floor, and a nice restaurant where we had breakfast at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: If possible, try for corner room with windows on two sides. We had one looking west toward the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear novice27,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see we were able to provide a nice stay for you while visiting Anchorage. We have 3 towers total, all conveniently located and connected to the main wrap around lobby. With the sun coming back out as you make your way towards Denali you should have a great time. Thank you and enjoy Alaska!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing