We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Captain Cook
Nearby Hotels
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$134
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$191
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$169
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveler rating
882
725
225
67
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
725
225
67
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe crow's nestprincess cruisecaptain's deckwhale's tailathletic clubdowntown anchoragejunior suiteland tourcorner roomnice hoteltop floorluxury hotelsnow city caferestaurants and shopscruise linebit datedroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
1,559 - 1,564 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel three nights and it was not long enough to enjoy everything about the hotel. We very-much enjoyed every meal we had at the various restaurants, and wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy every restaurant. Our room was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. The hotel staff was professional, helpful and courteous, even drawing us a map to one of the many nearby great restaurants, and even helping us figure out ways to save money on parking. If we are ever fortunate enough to visit Anchorage again, we will stay here. So many great restaurants in Anchorage. The hotel is within walking distance of many of them. anchorage is a very short drive from hundreds of spectacular hikes, so it didn't matter that I was unable to plan our trip.

Room Tip: Don't miss eating in the restaurant on the top floor. Instead of dinner, try the cheese platter. so good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB-Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear DB-Madison,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you painting such a great picture of our property. There are some great places to eat in the Hotel as well as some real finds just blocks away. We want everyone to have a great stay but also really enjoy Alaska.
We hope to see you again in the future and have a great rest of your summer!

Famous Quotes! Franklin D. Roosevelt, "Confidence...thrives on honesty, on honor, on the sacredness of obligations, on faithful protection and on unselfish performance. Without them I cannot live."

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

A very nice hotel conveniently located. Very helpful and competent staff. We stayed on the 14th floor of tower 3. Large comfortable room, nicely appointed, great bed, with beautiful view of Anchorage and mountains. Nice shops in lobby for souvenirs. Had wonderful halibut and salmon dinners in Fletcher's restaurant and good breakfast in coffee shop. View from Crow's Nest restaurant is awesome (food is a little pricey, paying for the view). Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Request room in tower 3 - 10th floor and above - Tower one is not air conditioned at this time - should be air conditioned by May 2013.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear OttandBert,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review. It looks like you enjoyed many aspects of your room and the Hotel. I see that you also had a nice dining experience in Fletchers. Did you have a chance to see the hand pounded copper ceiling? It took 1000 man hours to finish and its exquisite, a true masterpiece.
I hope your 4th of July was fun and we can't wait to see you again some day. Take care!

Famous Quotes! Edgar Allen Poe, "All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream."

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Big rooms, clean, great views. Toilets are really, really loud flushing. Bar had terrible service - never got waited on. The accomadations of this hotel are top notch. Super comforatble bed. Decor is really pleasant but dark in bathroom. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyd1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear tracyd1014,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write such an honest review. If the Hotel was nice but you had bad service in the bar then we want to know about it so we can fix it. We know we're not perfect but I promise we're going to strive to be close. If we don't set high goals then we're selling ourselves and the customer short! We hope to see you return in the future. Have fun in Arizona!

Here's to ATV's! A great source of recreational fun, Alaska ATV Adventures with Tim Cook always promises to be a fun excursion with a high likelyhood of seeing wildlife as well.
Get outdoors and see Alaska!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years before my journies to the Alaska backcountry. This is a hotel that is on par with great hotels everywhere. The rooms are nice, the beds comfortable, the staff excellent. The hotels restaurants offer all levels of food choice. The wine list at the Crow's Nest is superb.

Room Tip: You can get rooms facing the mountains or the ocean...both offer great views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Steven N,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and your constant patronage to our Hotel. We don't always get everything right with every guest but we try to and we're very pleased to see that you had such a good time while staying with us. We hope to see you return in the future and Happy 4th of July!

Here's to guest reviews! Without feedback from our appreciated guests we could not find out what we're doing both right and wrong. We depend on all of you to let us know so we can continue to build a great Hotel. Thank you!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I am in this hotel right now. This is the last night of our Princess excursion as we fly home tomorrow. I had previously read all the reviews and was looking forward to the luxury of a " Preferred Hotel". Our room is so small we can barely walk around our 3 bags. There are three of us which makes it more crowded. We all paid the same price for rhe cruise/excursion. We should have gotten a large enough room to comfortably accomodate 3 people. There were only 2 pillows. I called housekeeping for 2 more and got 1. My grandson took it without realizing we requested two. The bathroom is like a tiny closet, only room for one person at a time and you feel cramped brushing your teeth. I took a shower and had to nearly get on top of the commode to open and shut the door. I wanted to complain when we saw the room and ask to be moved to another room. my husband didnt want the hassel, was tired, and said we could survive one night. Bottom line with this hotel is to look at your room first, don't take a room on a lower floor. Surely don't take room 433 in tower one! Our mini suite on the ship was roomier than this! There are 3 towers so i bet there are many diffrent types and conditions of rooms. Extremely disappointed..Can't sleep for the noise as the window has to be opened to get any air.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room on a higher floor. Ask for a recently refurbished room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear californiagypsy1,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we're sorry we didn't meet expectations. The Deluxe Room you stayed in 433 (Tower 2) has 2 Double Sized beds. I understand that you had 3 people in your party and that can definitely make for less room. You also stated that you were in a "Mini Suite" on the cruise. I wish you would have called down so we could have known and taken that chance to place you into a junior suite which might be more comparable to your cruise accommodations. We will take a long look at what we're doing and make the corrections. We'd like to see you return in the future and I hope you have a great summer!

Here's to the 4th of July! Hopefully we all celebrate Independence Day with friends and family, great weather, and be safe!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews