We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A back to nature, quiet and friendly place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Ranked #25 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Raspberry Meadows is in a safe and quiet neighborhood located within walking distance of downtown and the Tony Knowles hiking/biking/cross-country ski trails on the Cook Inlet. Marty and family are very accomodating and make for a very pleasant stay. The downstairs apartment was clean, well furnished, with a stove, microwave and kichenette that very adequately met my needs. I liked the frontyard and backyard wildlife gardens and wish everyone was as conservation minded with their properties.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2008

The Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows is a lovely place to stay. We have been there for 7 days each summer for the past 2 years, once in the studio and in the downstairs apartment. Both units were always very clean and fresh, the linens changed when requested, and equipped with working appliances that we really appreciated, as we usually prepare our own picnics before leaving for the day, often picking up something simple for an easy supper as well. The on-site laundry was also a bonus. Our hostess was very helpful as to how to get around in Anchorage, and suggested places to visit locally or suitable for day trips. Tucked within a quiet residential neighborhood at 1401 West 13th Ave., this B&B is the perfect location from which to start walking the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail; downtown is not that far (you don't go to Alaska to sit, do you?), and the same hiking boots and rain suits that covered you in the bush are perfectly acceptable here. Hostess will loan umbrellas to sissies. A late-afternoon stroll around the surrounding streets, observing unique homes and evidence of competitive gardening, is a treat a guest of this B&B should indulge in. Although taxi drivers seem to have no trouble finding you, here you are a world away from traffic and the pervasive busyness found elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troutferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Absolutely terrible place.
Dishonest owner.
I asked, in advance, for a picture of the "Studio Suite" and was sent a brochure w/ delightfully decorated room. Booked it.
The "Studio Suite" actually turned out to be a the filthy, smelly, dump in the damp basement of the house-NOT the room in the brochure.
I feel totally deceived by the owner.
Furthermore, the owners daughters are responsible for most of the cleaning and upkeep.
Are there child labor laws in AK?

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank calibboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I must admit this was one of the most deplorable and bizzare lodgings I have ever experienced, right out af an Alfred Hitchcock movie. Really loved the lifesize cutout of James Dean propped up in the kitchen. Scares the heck out of you when you walk by. This B & B has had no care inside or out for sometime and smells of cat urine from their friendly felines. I could go on and on but I think you get the idea. Don't stay here under any conditions. Even free would be a bad deal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank BobHFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Like the previous reviewer we found this lodging to be less than desired. However it was late and we were tired after a long day of travel from the east coast.... so we toughed it out and stayed. The interior and exterior could certainly benefit from some sprucing up. While we could look past the Goodwill style decor we could not look past the lack of cleanliness... especially in the bathroom. The breakfast was also lacking and no one really wanted to eat the previously opened cereal...

We did feel Marty and her daughters were very kind and welcomed us to their home. We also thought the home was conveniently located... BUT for a total of $222 (tax included) we expected much more than we received.

A good decluttering and cleaning would go a long way... time to call in the TLC 'Clean Sweep' team!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
8  Thank Jodawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We booked this hotel directly with the owner/operator. My first mistake was to call her directly after she didn't return my emails (she stated her computer doesn't work--my guess is she can't find her computer, more on that later).

We were a party of four, my husband and I along with my father and his friend. We booked two bedrooms, a shared bath and were told we could use the kitchen and dining room.

Our first impression was "This CAN NOT be the place on the brochure!!" We drove by the house 2x and seriously thought it was a vacant house, the conifer trees are growing three feet through the fence, you can't see the house for the overgrown shrubs and bushes, and you can't drive in the driveway due to your car rubbing on the overgrown shrubs.

We all decided to drive into town and check in with the visitors center to see what they knew about this property. We explained about the horrific outside conditions and they said basically not to judge a book by it's cover. We are all professionals, Mike is a dentist, I'm a hygienist, my dad is a retired mechanical engineer so we said, Ok, we'll go against our better judgement and go back to see the house on the inside. That was a mistake.

All four of us walked to the house, and couldn't decide where was the entrance. The front entrance looks just like a garge sale when you look through the front window, there is stuff crammed EveryWhere....!!!

The owner Marty came out and told us the entrance was in the back. We went inside and things were no better there, there was hardly an area without clutter, brooms, dishes, rags, junk!, we saw the bedrooms and we unanimously hurried exited the house knowing we could never stay in a house so cluttered with junk which felt unclean.

My husband was left to explain that we could not stay here, it was unacceptable accomodations. Marty the owner didn't say anything to this, we are guessing we are not the first to see the place and leave.

We went directly back to the Anchorage Visitors Center to make sure they do something about this accomodation so other people do not arrive unaware like we were. They took the information and said they would look into it. I pray they do.

The visitors center did direct us to another B and B that was wonderful, I have written a glowing review of it.

Mike and Jill

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Makeithappen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We booked the Anchorage Downtown B&B at Rasberry Meadows because they have a private studio with a kitchen area and the prices on the website sounded great. First, the pricing on the website is wrong. Instead of $109 for the summer, it is $125-$135 per night for the studio pluse 12% tax which is not mentioned on the website. Second, the "breakfast" consisted of a muffin from Costco and a small store bought pastry along with an apple and an orange. I can't speak for the rest of the lodging options but the studio suite is very outdated and the kitchenette isn't really usable except for the microwave. Our mini-fridge smelled so strongly like fish that we didn't want to use it. The grounds and yard around the house are overgrown as well. On a positive note, the host and her daughters were incredibly nice and the B&B is conveniently located, although it is quite a walk to get to downtown. The bed was extremely comfortable and the studio has a TV with directTV access.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank outdoorgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#60 of 74 in Anchorage
196 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,580 reviews
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows

Address: 1401 W 13th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4258
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $55 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, suites with kitchenettes or rooms tastefully furnished with antiques, reasonably priced, walking distance to downtown and the ocean; secluded eco-friendly downtown Anchorage B&B, recommended for 20+ years for warm Alaskan homestyle friendliness, travel tips and comfortable lodging. Near tourist attractions, downtown shops, Coastal trail - bike, hike, view flowers, birds, sunset; ski and skate at Westchester Lagoon and Kincaid's world-class Nordic ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing