We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homey, Friendly - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Ranked #28 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Homey, Friendly - Great Location”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just a quick trip in winter - cold, but beautiful. B&B was very well priced - hidden in trees - close to downtown and ski trails. Room was very reasonably priced. Hostess was so helpful with suggestions for my stay - great restaurant tips and I particularly appreciated the tip to cross country ski on the ocean trail just a block from the home. Clean, comfortable, convenient - not just a hotel, but a personal home with Alaskan charm

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    3
    13
    15
See reviews for
27
18
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Traveling alone, but felt comfortable and safe in this convenient home close to downtown. The weather was sunny and warm for Alaska but cold for me - I appreciated all the sight-seeing suggestions from my host - even the Rendezvous program which they provided with extra tips. The home was clean. Would recommend for convenience, hospitality, and location near the ocean coastal trail. Excellent price, too

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Two nights in the Studio prior to a 13 day camping tour, two nights in the two bedroom apartment afterwards. Both are spacious, enabling packing and repacking without pain. Washer and drier was particularly weekend when we arrived back and we washed *everything*.

Marty and her daughters were very friendly and helpful.

This B&B is located on a suburban street about 15 minutes from the city centre. The walk is pleasant. Getting in from the airport, though, required a taxi as there was not adequate information at the airport about the local buses (no staff on duty at visitors information on a Saturday evening after 4pm - best to determine your transport before you arrive at the airport if it is out of hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This B & B is not up to the standards of other B & B's we have enjoyed. My husband and I stayed in the lower level studio suite for three nights in June 2012. The website photo is misleading and outdated--the yard presently is totally overgrown and unkempt. Calling it an "Alaskan Prairie" does not excuse it. The lower entrance is dank and dark. We give credit for newer carpeting in the unit, but the furnishings are old, worn out and cluttered. The bed crammed into the corner smelled musty. It was depressing. The kitchenette is not usable in a practical sense. The breakfast offered was store purchased muffins presented in a tin (when was it last washed?), a few yogurts and a couple of unappealing apples. Instant coffee and powdered creamer showed expired dates by a couple years. The bathroom shower is newer and clean but the fixtures of the tiny sink are badly corroded. There is no place to set personal items without fear that they will fall onto the toilet plunger and the towels leave something to be desired. In addition the T.V. didn't work and the advertised fireplace sported a post-it note not to use it...only one of many post-it notes. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Adobe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at "Raspberry Meadows". We loved the sweet smell of flowers outside. The first night was in the Master--a rather small "eclecticly decorated" room where we shared a bath. The next night we moved to the basement in a lovely, spacious 2 bedroom unit, which was well worth the extra money. The beds were comfortable & everything we needed was conveniently there. We appreciated the instant oatmeal & hot chocolate packets--although there were also some muffins, cereal, etc. also. Marty was very friendly & helpful. Her two daughters, Annie & Beth, were very sweet. The location was perfect. In the evening we walked to the coastal trail & enjoyed the gorgeous weather (we're from Arizona!) & views. When I return to Alaska, I'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the 2 bedroom unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

i usually don't like to give bad reviews, but i must on this one, house smelled of cat urine, booked room 6 months in advance, ran my cc through upon making reservation, then did not have the room and private bath we were suppose to have. breakfast was in dark kitchen, milk had expired three weeks earlier, no contact with owner after check in, stuff just piled every place, very cluttered and dark. sorry to say had hard time finding place very much overgrown ( said to be natural)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days at "Raspberry Meadows". Marty and her family are friendly, helpful hosts. Our walks in the lovely neighborhood and on the coastal trail were a great break from the plane, train and bus travel of our vacation. The nearby market provided some delicious meals when we weren't in the mood for a restaurant, yet downtown is not far away if one is ready for dinner out. We enjoyed relaxing in the comfortable living room with its view of the flowers in the meadow-like front yard. The apartment was clean and comfortable and we appreciated all the information about the area that was provided. I will certainly try to book Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows when I visit Anchorage again!

Room Tip: We upgraded from the studio to the two bedroom apartment and felt the small extra cost was well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#59 of 73 in Anchorage
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#47 of 73 in Anchorage
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.7 mi away
Walkabout Town B&B
Walkabout Town B&B
#11 of 127 in Anchorage
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows

Property: Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Address: 1401 W 13th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4258
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, suites with kitchenettes or rooms tastefully furnished with antiques, reasonably priced, walking distance to downtown and the ocean; secluded eco-friendly downtown Anchorage B&B, recommended for 20+ years for warm Alaskan homestyle friendliness, travel tips and comfortable lodging. Near tourist attractions, downtown shops, Coastal trail - bike, hike, view flowers, birds, sunset; ski and skate at Westchester Lagoon and Kincaid's world-class Nordic ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing