We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B close to the airport.”

Elderberry Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elderberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B close to the airport.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Elderberry B&B in June on our first and last night of our holiday in Alaska.. It is an easy drive from the airport. We loved this B&B, Linda and Norman are gracious hosts and have a lovely home, our room was well furnished and we loved the French toast for breakfast. Linda very kindly offered to take us to the airport at 4am for our 6am flight home and had prepared us coffee and a breakfast to go.
If we ever return to Alaska, Elderberry B&B would be our first choice in Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_DScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed during our holiday for nights we wanted to be close to airport in anchorage. It is only a 5 minute drive or $12 taxi ride away but doesn't get much aircraft noise.
The hosts were very helpful letting us use their computer to try to check in on line. We even left our hire car on their driveway for the one night we were away at Katmai.
Breakfast was good, especially the French toast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Elderberry. The owners, Norman and Linda, are very gracious and accommodating. They are near the airport and they will arrange to check in guests even if they arrive quite late. The room was a little small, but no big deal for a one-night stay, and it was clean and comfortable. When the wi-fi developed problems, Norman fired up his Mifi unit and I connected through that with no problem. Breakfast was quite good, with French toast, sausage, yogurt with fruit and granola, orange juice and coffee. They even loaned us a can of bear spray and a copy of Milepost for us to drop off when we return to Anchorage in a few weeks. We are pleased to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The B&B is only about ten minutes from the airport, and Norman and Linda were very accommodating of our late arrival time. We liked everything about this B&B - the location, the room, and breakfast, but the best thing about the B&B is the hosts. Norman and Linda are simply great. They've lived in Alaska for a long time and have a lot of information to share. We will definitely stay here again if we're ever back in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My brother and I stayed here on the way to the Kenai Peninsula for a fishing trip. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us some great tips on local eating and fishing. Our accomodations were comfortable and quiet. We love the breakfast Linda fixed for us -0- especially liked being treated to our first ever taste of birch syrup (like maple only better). The patio adjacent to the breakfast room was ablaze with the most colorful flowers. We felt right at home. This B&B is conveniently close to the airport. We will definitely stay here again if we need to overnight in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here on our first night in Anchorage and our last day before heading home. Linda & Norman are very gracious hosts. We stayed in the Mariner room and found it to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean, as well as nicely decorated. Breakfast was excellent! We would stay here again if in the area and would recommend it to anyone spending time in Anchorage. Very close and convenient to the airport too.

Room Tip: Mariner room perfect for 3 travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We spent three different nights at this B&B (not in succession) in August of 2010 during our trip to Alaska. We initially chose it because of its proximity to the airport, as our flight was scheduled to arrive at 12:30 a.m. The hosts told us not to worry about the late arrival, as they were used to it, and in fact it was no problem at all. We rented a car at the airport and were at the B&B ten minutes later -- it couldn't have been easier.

Our room was a bit snug, but the bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was good, and the hostess shared some unusual "birch syrup" on our pancakes, a delicious new experience for us. (We noted afterwards that such syrup is quite expensive, as it is much harder to make than that made from maple trees.

What really made this B&B stand out was the graciousness of the hosts. The second night we stayed there, after returning from an overnight trip to Homer, we had to turn the car in at the airport, and the host volunteered to pick us up there. Then the following morning, he drove us to the train station for an early morning train to Denali. He told us to give him a call on our return (this time by motor coach), and sure enough he came down at picked us up after the bus dropped us off at the airport. Once again, the following morning he drove us to the train station for an early morning train to Seward.

All in all, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
643 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elderberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elderberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Elderberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8340 Elderberry St, Anchorage, AK 99502-4245
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing