We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but spartan - no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic Adventure Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed 3 nights and was provided a comfortable bed with clean linens. The shared bathroom was kept clean and well maintained. Overall, it was a good experience with welcoming staff and a great value compared to hotel prices in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scfivegrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

this is a small hostel which has about 20 rooms, big enough for one or 2 people. some rooms have only beds, others have a bed and a desk with a folding chair. they also have flat screen tvs with about 60 channels and the bathrooms are nearby. i stayed for a week and nights were quiet. it's also in a quiet neighborhood.
the kitchen is very large and very well stocked with kitchenware. free pancake mix, rice and oatmeal are available as well as tons of spices and other food left by previous residents. the bathrooms were always clean. computer is available for use in the office. the owner is making improvements to the rooms such as painting them.
the owner and workers were always friendly and helpful and know the city well.
summer prices in alaska are absurdly expensive, so the rates here were comparatively reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My stay in this hostel was very pleasant. Friendly owner, neat and comfy rooms, clean bathrooms, a huge kitchen and sympathetic folks from all over the world.
Most importantly, it was really quiet, which made me enjoy the place even more.

Would, and indeed will, come back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed there two nights and loved it!
By far, the best place we found in Alaska during our 10 day vacations. Very good housekeeping, comprehensive kitchen facilities, ... it's clean, comfortable. You feel in a new home!
Amazing price too.

Our host is wonderful about welcoming us and in providing information about what to do in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Alaska is super expensive so it was great to find this economically priced hostel in Anchorage. The place was clean and quiet, the internet worked great, it's in a good location in Anchorage, and, overall, it was a great experience. I'd stay again and I'd recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Accommodations in Anchorage are incredibly expensive-- especially during the tourist season, so it's great to have a place like Arctic Adventure. I was there for six nights and it was a fantastic base to enjoy Anchorage and also to take day trips. The owner keeps the place very clean and well run. The room was great-- with a very comfortable bed. It's quiet during the day if you want to come back for a bit and relax. Interesting travelers were there to talk with if you felt like it.

There's a very clean kitchen with all the utensils you need to make meals. Some breakfast ingredients like pancake mix and oatmeal were available at no charge if you wanted to make your own breakfast-- and that was welcome.

Downtown isn't far away at all. If you're not driving it's an easy walk or a short bus ride away. But you don't have to go downtown if you want to shop or eat out. Plenty of restaurants are nearby and there's a Wal-Mart quite close if there's something you need to buy.
You can do your laundry there for a couple dollars and the detergent was provided- also quite welcome. The shared bathrooms were also very clean but like I mentioned, the whole place was.
No complaints at all. I'll stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

So, up front, be aware this place is a hostel and not a B&B. Don't expect a warm & fuzzy environment. We needed a place for a quick, inexpensive overnight and it fit the bill. We stayed in a private room and found it clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was fine. The hostel wasn't full, so it was pretty quiet. That could change, of course, depending on how many guests were staying. We had our own food so didn't need the free oatmeal, rice or pancake mix provided.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghoulwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Adventure Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Adventure Hostel

Address: 337 W 33rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4706
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range: $39 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Free Internet, Cable TV, well stocked 500 square foot kitchen, free storage, large chest freezer to store your fish, linens and towels provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing