We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Accommodations in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic Adventure Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic Accommodations in Anchorage”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

So, up front, be aware this place is a hostel and not a B&B. Don't expect a warm & fuzzy environment. We needed a place for a quick, inexpensive overnight and it fit the bill. We stayed in a private room and found it clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was fine. The hostel wasn't full, so it was pretty quiet. That could change, of course, depending on how many guests were staying. We had our own food so didn't need the free oatmeal, rice or pancake mix provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghoulwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
45
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in Arctic Adventure Hostel for three nights; the first night of our trip, and the last two days. It was extremely clean, and the owner takes pride in keeping the place trouble-free. No smoking and no alcohol. We had a private room with a key, and the bed was very simple, and very comfortable. Shared bathrooms were big and clean (would have been nice to have some counter-tops, but for $50/night, you cannot complain). Great hot water pressure. Walmart is a few blocks away. Huge kitchen (I mean huge!), and laundry can be done between 4 and 10 pm for $1/wash and $2/dry. Owner is friendly and professional, and if you don't have enough quarters for laundry, just ask him for change.

Room Tip: Room 303 was nicer than the earlier room we stayed and was in front of the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is what it is. If you're looking for a place to sleep & take a shower. It's good. Tiffany is super nice. I didn't take advantage of the kitchen area, but it looked well stocked and clean. I would stay here again. There is ample parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrTrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Arctic Adventure Hostel three times during our Alaska roundtrip: When we arrive, in the middle and at the end. The hostel was our base, where we found all what we needed: clean bed, bathroom, wifi, very good equipped kitchen, wash machine and pleasant staff. I fully recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Arctic Adventure Hostel for 3 night when we started our North Amercia Trip. So let me sum up the pros and cons:
pro
- very good price (for Anchorage)
- free wifi
- fully equipped large kitchen
- helpful staff

con
- it is not downtown
- the rooms are ok for sleeping but not for staying in it (small and limited view)

We would stay there again since it is afforable and most people need anchorage as a start/end point of there journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoergLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was suffering from sticker shock when I saw hotel pices in Anchorage. Arctic Adventure provides a simple place to stay comparable to as most hotels in Anchorage. I never used Hostels as a kid but I have stayed twice at Arctic. They provide a clean room with sheets and a towel. The room has a TV and except for the shared bathroom it is just like a hotel. The kitchen is open and you can fix your own breakfast. with their supplies. I recently paid $52 a night, about 1/3 of the hotel price.

Room Tip: Shared rooms are cheaper but for $52 what the heck?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean, friendly, warm, comfortable... everything that you are looking on a place to stay. This Hostel is so good, we have a nice kitchen were we had the chance to talk with very nice people, room and bathrooms are so clean, the place is quiet all the time, is so close to Wall Mart, also to the bus stop that goes to 5th Ave. Joseph is so nice and helpful with everything.

Recently he didn't had anymore space for one night, so I went to another one call Alaska Backpacker Inn, OMG don't do it, I was missing really so much Arctic Adventures, DEFINITELY THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN ANCHORAGE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaHerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Adventure Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Adventure Hostel

Property: Arctic Adventure Hostel
Address: 337 W 33rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4706
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Free Internet, Cable TV, well stocked 500 square foot kitchen, free storage, large chest freezer to store your fish, linens and towels provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arctic Adventure Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing