We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic Adventure Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Arctic Adventure Hostel three times during our Alaska roundtrip: When we arrive, in the middle and at the end. The hostel was our base, where we found all what we needed: clean bed, bathroom, wifi, very good equipped kitchen, wash machine and pleasant staff. I fully recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
45
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Arctic Adventure Hostel for 3 night when we started our North Amercia Trip. So let me sum up the pros and cons:
pro
- very good price (for Anchorage)
- free wifi
- fully equipped large kitchen
- helpful staff

con
- it is not downtown
- the rooms are ok for sleeping but not for staying in it (small and limited view)

We would stay there again since it is afforable and most people need anchorage as a start/end point of there journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoergLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was suffering from sticker shock when I saw hotel pices in Anchorage. Arctic Adventure provides a simple place to stay comparable to as most hotels in Anchorage. I never used Hostels as a kid but I have stayed twice at Arctic. They provide a clean room with sheets and a towel. The room has a TV and except for the shared bathroom it is just like a hotel. The kitchen is open and you can fix your own breakfast. with their supplies. I recently paid $52 a night, about 1/3 of the hotel price.

Room Tip: Shared rooms are cheaper but for $52 what the heck?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean, friendly, warm, comfortable... everything that you are looking on a place to stay. This Hostel is so good, we have a nice kitchen were we had the chance to talk with very nice people, room and bathrooms are so clean, the place is quiet all the time, is so close to Wall Mart, also to the bus stop that goes to 5th Ave. Joseph is so nice and helpful with everything.

Recently he didn't had anymore space for one night, so I went to another one call Alaska Backpacker Inn, OMG don't do it, I was missing really so much Arctic Adventures, DEFINITELY THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN ANCHORAGE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaHerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, AK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was such a great place to stay. Very reasonablly priced, very quiet, and friendly staff. I stayed with a friend for two nights in a private room just last week and I will be returning in a few weeks to stay after backpacking through Denali. I highly recommend this place to all hostel lovers. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaytebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg/Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you're looking for a reasonable-priced hostel in Anchorage, you should stay at the Arctic Adventure Hostel.
We have been booking a private double-room befor flying out of Alaska again. When we arrived to AK we stayed at another hostel (not named here), which was kind of ugly and quite expensive ($135/night) - we would always come to Arcitc Adventure Hostel again!!!
The rooms have enough space, are equipped with simple furniture. The rooms and the shared-bathrooms were very clean. The kitchen has excellent equipment with really cooking-utensiles you can imagine. Get free coffe, tea, cereal and various other food like rice, flour, etc.
The staff also was very helpful and nice.
If you have no car it's of course a bit away from downtown or the airport. The taxi-ride from the airport to the hostel costs you about 10 dollar, bus-stop is a 10 to 15-minute walk away from the hostel.
No negative things to say about this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We slept one night in this hostel: very nice people as receptionists, shared but very clean bathrooms, small but efficient room and a fully-accessorized social kitchen. An ideal solution for young and backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supertramaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Adventure Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Adventure Hostel

Property: Arctic Adventure Hostel
Address: 337 W 33rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4706
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Free Internet, Cable TV, well stocked 500 square foot kitchen, free storage, large chest freezer to store your fish, linens and towels provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arctic Adventure Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing