We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time Visitor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildflower Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildflower Inn
Ranked #5 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Helens, Oregon
2 reviews
“First Time Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my first visit to Alaska and I could not have picked a better place to stay. I much prefer the "home-i-ness" feeling of a B/B to a hotel. As a solo traveler, it was nice to have other guests to visit with and share an amazing morning meal. Allan was most a most accomodating host and tour guide. He was most helpful in pointing me in the right directions for places to see and wonderful locations for dinner. I had a most amazing week in Alaska. Thank you Allan and Larry!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
105
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at A Wildflower Inn while in Alaska for the Iditarod. When we travel, we want to have a place that feels homey so that we can relax at the end of a busy day. A Wildflower Inn gave us just that. We had two rooms and a bathroom on the 2nd floor of this duplex-turned-B & B. It was perfect for our little family. The common areas were comfortable and we felt welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and flexible. There were some mornings that we had to leave early, and there was plenty to choose from before we hit the road: cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, fruit, milk, and juice. The mornings that we were able to eat a full breakfast were wonderful--caramelized French toast, fruit parfaits, scrambled eggs with reindeer sausage. And while all of this was great, the hosts truly made the experience wonderful. Allan sat with us each morning and chatted with us about our day. He gave great tips on exploring the city and surrounding areas, and he was always willing to give us directions. He was warm and welcoming and very comfortable to interact with. The Inn was within walking distance of everything downtown, which made for a great week. Even though we had a vehicle, parking downtown would have been difficult, so this was a great bonus. I would highly recommend A Wildflower Inn, and we look forward to the day that we can go back to Alaska. When we do, we'll be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthmom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location is very convenient (15 min walk from downtown), the room was nice and clean and the owners were great hosts. The morning breakfast, with plenty of choices and a delicious home made fresh baked treat every day was fantastic. Absolutely recommend this place! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The only negative point us street parking. It's really a great neighborhood but I loathe street parking... However I'm willing to forget that as this little place rocks! You really are made to feel welcome & comfy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherFrozenToeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had one night at this converted duplex before departing Anchorage for home. Allan and Larry, our hosts, were extremely helpful in directing us around town, and the breakfast Larry made was delicious. (agreed, the caramel French toast is addictive). The house is centrally located for walking access to the downtown area, it was clean and the bed comfy. What more could one want?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Let me start off by saying The Wildflower Inn greatly exceeded my expectations!

Allan and Larry were our hosts and they are probably the most accommodating, genuinly nice people I have ever met! They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible! They are also very down to earth! I am 22 years old and so are my buddies and there was no curfew and no mandatory quite time like other places. The only thing is to be respectful to other guests that might be sleeping which is common sense to most.

The house in general had beautiful flowers outside (mind you it is summer) and you can tell they really take care of
their inn. When you come in, you have to take your shoes off which is a plus because you know it's definitely clean. The place is immaculate!!! Which was awesome for me because I am a mild germaphob! Our rooms were cozy and beautiful. It was nicer than expected!! There wasn't much in the room besides a bed, a tv, cups for midnight water, a suitcase stand and some chocolates. But it was perfect amount of stuff because we weren't in the room most of the time but when we were we had everything we needed! The bathroom had great fuzzy towels (more than enough towels) and great water pressure which is big for me!! The common area felt like home but we didn't go in there much.

Larry made breakfast in the morning which was out of this world! There was a toast section and coffee and tea! There was always fresh fruit plus the hot dish and a hot side! Absolutely delicious!!

The location was awesome!! The inn is a 10 min walk from the town where there is everything to do! Learn about anchorage, shopping, tours, etc...

The Wildflower really set the bar high for my next destination! Being there felt like home but even cozier! The experience was awesome and I am a picky person! I would only come back here if I ever come back to Anchorage!


Thank you for everything Larry and Allan, hopefully see you in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights after our cruise to explore Anchorage. We found the Wildflower Inn to be comfortable and in a great location. Larry and Allan were charming hosts and their breakfasts were to die for with them kindly sharing their recipe for caramel french toast with us before we departed. (Warning it could be addictive.) They provided us with excellent recommendations for dining and bike rentals and made us feel right at home. Should we return to Anchorage one day, we will definitely stay with them again. Thanks again, Larry and Allan! Barb & Jim, Lisa & Alan (Iowa Staters)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildflower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildflower Inn

Property: Wildflower Inn
Address: 1239 I St, Anchorage, AK 99501-4322
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing