We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay 4 nights was great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Wellington, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stay 4 nights was great”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Moose Gardens this year for total of 4 nights around a 7 day tour we took in Alaska. The first 2 night there was one other couple one night then following night just my wife and I, and Garnett made his "Dutch Babies " which were fantastic. You can go to their site and see these and the picture does not not service them justice. Our last two nights there were also other couples there and it was still very comfortable at breakfast and not crowded. The food was fantastic and plenty of it with varied menu every morning. Garnett really puts thought into what goes together for a great breakfast and just doesn't throw some plain pancakes on the table with a little bit of bacon.
The rooms are comfortable,quite and all have a different theme. Plenty of good hot water in showers and some of rooms have balcony with good views. If you want TV there is not one that we saw,but you are in Alaska to see the beauty and enjoy nature.
Both Marya and Garnett are fun people and just ask them about things to do around the area and they can steer you in the right direction to see some wonderful things. Make sure that you take a minuet and check out Garnett's gnome village he has set up,it's very entertaining when reall paying attention to what is there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at Moose Gardens a total of 4 nights in August of 2013 and I would HIGHLY recommend this place. As you can see....It is a gorgeous HUGE log cabin. The hosts are wonderful, friendly people and quickly made us feel right at home. They even let us put our beer in the fridge. The breakfasts that Garnet makes are outstanding!!! Not just muffins and cereal!! and The dining room where you eat is just lovely. The view out our bedroom balcony was breathtaking. Each morning when we woke...we had that beautiful view to greet us! Its a very peaceful place....unlike all the hotels downtown. We really felt like we experienced true Alaska here. Mayra has an awesome flower garden that is really something to see. I spent a couple of afternoons photographing her beautiful flowers. One word of advice if you plan to be in the Anchorage area. Do yourself a favor and bring a GPS !! I dont think we would have made it without ours. Anchorage has many streets that start out one thing and before you know it the name changes to something else. Pretty crazy!! Also....there are lots of One Way streets downtown so the GPS really helped there. There is sooo much to see and do in the Anchorage area. We were so tired by night time that we had no problem sleeping and didnt notice it being light longer. Its a very quiet and restful place to stay. On our first day....we saw a young moose right on the property which was very exciting to us!!! This was our first experience with a B&B and I wasnt sure how I was going to feel about staying in someone else's home but it was a wonderful experience and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!! So much nicer than those high dollar hotels downtown for sure. If you have a problem with stairs.....there is one room downstairs . Doesnt have as nice a view.....but still a nice room. There are no bad rooms. Our room upstairs also had a huge garden tub which was greatly appreciated after the 8 hour flight . Great price, great food, great views, and great hosts!!! Look no further........You'll love it !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic at Moose Gardens!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moosegardens, Owner at Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your first stay at a B&B.
We love sharing our home and gardens.
Thank you!
Marya
Moose Gardens B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ks
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the beginning and at the end of our trip to Alaska in the Bear Room at the Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast. The room was large, even with an extra bed for our grandson, and there is a huge bathroom as well as a dressing room included.

Marya and Garnet are extremely nice and helpful people who share their love of Alaska, flowers, gnomes and other collectibles with their guests. And they cook up a mighty Alaskan breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The home is beautiful but the view is great. Looking east from the front porch is a sweeping view of the suburbs of Anchorage. In the day we saw moose grazing down the hill. But the night view was amazing. The lights on the far hill side sparkled. We booked the smallest room, ivy room, and it was very large and the price is great. We enjoyed the family sorting berries getting ready for the state fair. The breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed stuffed French toast and crab quiche.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived very early one morning at the end of July after a 2-night trip from Australia. We were greeted warmly and had breakfast before having a bit of a rest. Garnet very kindly drove us back to the airport in the afternoon to pick up a hire car and gave us excellent recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants for dinner. We felt very at home and comfortable there. The only down side was that it never got dark and the curtains in our room were not blackout. We saw a moose and her calf near the house, and enjoyed wandering in the beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: The Ivy Room is the cheapest, but still good. We stayed in the Bear room because it had a balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmsjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First and foremost- this house is STUNNING! I have come to love this style of homes in Alaska. When we arrived Mayra and her son were just about to go berry picking. She told us to go inside and that her husband Garnet would be in to welcome us and boy did he! I have never met a nicer man! Being from the East Coast, my boyfriend and I aren't really used to folks being so friendly, ha! We stayed in the Ocean Suite, which was very nice, clean and spacious. Yes, the house is overrun with stuffed animals, but it didn't really bother me, my bedroom at home is sort of the same way! There was no tv, but it didn't bother us none since we were organizing and packing up to head out the very next day anyway. We chatted quite a bit with Garnet, Mayra and their son as they were gearing to present in the Alaska State Fair. They are very talkative, kind people. I enjoyed their insights into life in Alaska. Breakfast was good, I just wish I had woken up earlier than 9:30 because by that time I had to reheat it and I am sure it wasn't as good as it could have been.

All in all a great stay, I would definitely come back. I would have rather stayed here rather than the Downtown Anchorage where we came across some drunks wandering the streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First placed we stayed on our trip to Alaska. Loved visiting with the hosts. Breakfasts were very good. He asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast the next morning. Flower gardens are beautiful. We were thrilled to see a Moose and 2 calves in the garden during our stay. Hosts were very patient and understanding of our search for airline flights and times. The only thing I would change would be black out curtains in the rooms for people who are not used to the sun shining during the night.

Room Tip: Rooms did not have black out curtains so we found it hard to sleep with the light coming through all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiling-4-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
545 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Maria's Creekside B&B
#19 of 127 in Anchorage
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
77 reviews
Ingra House
#76 of 127 in Anchorage
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6345 W Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, Alaska, Anchorage, AK 99502-3954
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing