We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found the Moose Gardens to be very nice accommodations. We had many problems with booking our trip and had to make and cancel reservations many times. Each of these requests was met with kindness and prompt courteous attention. When we finally got to stay there we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful grounds surrounding the house. We were greeted upon arrival by Marya and her daughter.
The room we stayed in was the Ocean suite. It was very nicely appointed, and very clean. We found everything to our liking. The breakfast that was served by Garnett was excellent. The food was abundant and good. The host and hostess both were very helpful regarding Alaska in general and the surrounding Anchorage area. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Close to the airport. A little far from downtown. If you have a car it is no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcosheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We agree with the other reviews that the hosts were very friendly and talkative. They have a passion for growing flowers (900 dahlia plants in the front yard) and for picking wild berries (lots of ribbons from the state fair). They also were more flexible than usual about time - some other guests had a flight arriving at 2:00 AM. The breakfasts were certainly large, each time with several choices, although some of the dishes were a little sweet for my taste. The 3rd time we wanted to eat later than the other guests, and the pancakes were no longer hot.

We stayed in the ocean room one night, then returned and stayed in the ivy room two nights, and our daughter was in the bear room. The bathroom in the ocean room was almost as big as a bedroom, and we enjoyed the two-person jacuzzi (which was very clean). The beds were comfortable. I must admit I was surprised to see plastic flowers decorating the rooms, with so many beautiful real flowers in the gardens.

I chose this place because the web site suggested it was on a lake, but we could not see any lake from our room. The distant view of the mountains was very nice, but the area is a suburb, with new ticky-tacky development springing up all around in the foreground. We drove right past the driveway the first time we were trying to find it, so it is necessary to pay attention to the address because there wasn't a sign from the main road, and the driveway goes past a collection of junky cars.

We were hoping to see a moose, and they definitely visit the garden, but not very frequently. We did see several moose in the nearly park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I enjoyed the entire time we spent with Marya and Garett this July, 2013, for 4 days. The Bird Room was very comfortable, view spectacular, and the hosts made us feel like being at home. They are avid gardeners so I enjoyed every day checking out their marvelous flowers and especially their dahlias! Breakfast was excellent--felt I was in a 4-star restaurant! Our stay made the trip to Alaska memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

There are a ton of B&Bs in and around Anchorage area. We are so glad we chose this place. We had a wonderful experience. We had chosen the smallest room. Yet it was decent size. The in suite bath was reasonably clean and fully functional with hot and cold water. The hosts were really nice people. The owner is an awesome cook. First day he made us a french toast, stuffed with apricots, orange and cream cheese. It was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. On the check-out day, we were planning to leave early around 6am since we were travelling to Denali. The owner was gracious enough to actually get up early and pack us a breakfast that we could carry with us including fresh breads and juice etc.

The location is perfect. Not in the center of the city yet not too far. The view of the valley and the mountains far away is like out of a picture frame.

Room Tip: Select the room with a balcony if you don't plan to roam around much. The view is worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AragornTheStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

we chose Moose Gardens based on other trip advisor reviews. we were not bothered about being downtown as our flight arrived late (10pm) and the next day we were off to Denali. (on the return we did want to be downtown and stayed at Captain Cook). ours was the ocean suite, very large comfy room + bed, big bathroom, small balcony with a nice view. breakfast very good and plentiful! our luggage did not arrive on our flight, but was delivered to the B&B the next morning - phew! we would recommend Moose Gardens to anyone who is not bothered about being close to downtown - friendly hosts, nice room, great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Moose Gardens for the last night of our 3-weeks-tour. The B&B has a wonderful garden with lots of beautiful flowers, and a great mountain view. We liked the Ivy Room, it was nicely decorated, a very good choice for the price. The breakfast was delicious, with salmon, ham and eggs, pancakes...much more than we could eat. The B&B is at a short distance from the airport and contrary to other people we did not hear any planes.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Konstanze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Moose Gardens two separate days during our trip to Alaska. We stayed in the Ivy room the first night, and then in the Ocean Suite the second night. Considering the extremely affordable prices they charged us, we had a great experience. The hosts were gracious and helpful, and prepared nice breakfasts. They accommodated me as a vegetarian. My husband and I did enjoy the Ocean Suite better, and made use of the jet tub in the large bathroom. The room also had a great view. The Ivy room was acceptable. If I reviewed the two rooms separately, I would give the Ivy room 4 stars and the Ocean suite 5 stars. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, although my husband had a bit of an issue with the bed in the Ivy room. He is 6 ft tall and 240 lbs. The bed didn't quite give the support he needed.

Overall, great stay. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suites over the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
475 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dimond Center Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
426 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,727 reviews
A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 127 in Anchorage
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6345 W Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, Alaska, Anchorage, AK 99502-3954
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing