We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Clean and Organized Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerset Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2011

It's a very clean house hosted by a Vietnamese lady. She keeps the place organized and neat. It's reasonably close to the airport and the neighborhood is very good too. The rooms in downstairs suite are all clean and cozy. The common area has a nice fireplace and she uses it. You have a large TV set and all sorts of players. She also has a lot of stories to tell!

Room Tip: You can rent the entire suite at downstair for a really good price if you let the hostess know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HHH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great hospitality! The hostess served us with delicious and crisp waffles that made our mouth water for more. I was amazed at the antique furniture and the decoration of the place. You'll be inspired to bring out your artistic talent in you looking at her paintings and crafts. We appreciate the fact that she took care of every minute detail for us to have a comfortable and memorable stay. She even packed some food and juice for our journey forward. This was our best B&B stay during our 10-day tour of Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our itinerary in Alaska had us stay in Anchorage on three alternate nights, in early July. Kim-Anh was very considerate in accommodating us and our late arrival times. The rooms and the house overall were very clean and homely. We even had bath robes and bedroom slippers in the room :) . Kim-Anh and Mike are very friendly hosts and are quite knowledgeable about Alaska. Breakfasts are an elaborate affair with the guests eating together. Kim-Anh is a wonderful cook and her home-made preserves are not to be missed. If you have time, relax in their sun room. Alaska Summerset B&B was a nice place to stay and we highly recommend it for anyone visiting Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Summerset B&B was fantastic for our group of 6. The downstairs area has 3 ensuite bedrooms, a lovely large lounge and small kitchen area - all immaculately presented. Kim Anh is a wonderful host and great cook. We loved listening to her stories and the history of her beautiful Vietnamese furniture. The B&B is in a lovely area with a creek and walking trail nearby. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance and the public bus takes approx 30 minutes to downtown Anchorage if you don't have your own transport. We would love to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This place was really a fantastic find. The breakfasts were superb. The location was next to a stream that connected to Tony Knowles trail. You could rent bikes close by. While walking on this trail, we saw a moose with two babies right next to the trail. Kim Anh was very friendly and giving. It was very clean and our group had the basement which included a family area where we could unwind together.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123alwaystraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This place is a gem. I called the owners a few days before our stay and asked them if it would be possible to leave our cruise luggage there while we spent a few nights in Denali. We did not want to lug everything. They said it would be no problem at all.
When we arrived to drop off the luggage they were kind enough to show us our rooms so that when we returned for our stay that would we know where to go.
Our room was on the bottom floor of the house that has a seperate entrance from the back. On that floor are 3 rooms, bar/kitchen area and a full living room/Den area. It was perfect for us as we were traveling wtih a friend so we could meet int he den area and make our plans from there.
When we arrived for our stay our bags were already in our designated rooms. I asked if it would be possible to do some laundry and they were very accommodating.
We had a king bed and it was extremely comfortable.
The next morning breakfast was served. Sourdough pancakes, bacon, fresh fruit and OJ. Just perfect. We wish that we could have a stayed a few more nights but we had to get on our way for our cruise.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbsmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed 2 nights. The place is immaculate, beautiful yet very comfortable. The host Kim Anh and Mike were the most warm and welcoming people. They made us feel like part of the family. The breakfasts were incredible and went well beyond any expectations I had. Our 1st morning there we sat at the breakfast table for 2 hours visiting after breakfast it was great. They have a great location close to the airport and shopping yet on a very quiet street with a walking path just behind the house. I will never stay anywhere else when in Anchorage. I can't say enough nice things about it.. The price is very good for what you get. Kim Anh is a great cook and is very accomodating to guest requests. Thanks Kim and Mike we loved your home!!!! Hope to be back soon....

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank travelbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Dimond Center Hotel
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
462 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
102 reviews
Copper Whale Inn
#9 of 126 in Anchorage
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerset Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerset Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8391 Summerset Dr, Anchorage, AK 99518-2927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $99 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing