We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast goodness”
Review of The Red Chair Cafe

The Red Chair Cafe
Ranked #12 of 932 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: A wonderful restaurant in downtown Anchorage, Alaska serving creative breakfast and lunch dishes to locals and tourist alike. Make sure to check out our extensive beer and wine list.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Three of us came to visit, catch-up and,of course, eat. The atmosphere was perfect for this very thing. It was quiet enough to allow for visiting and our wait staff never let us feel neglected or rushed. The food was tasty and the variety was pleasing to all three of us. In fact, we like to eat a healthy diet and we were not disappointed with the choices which were tasty and healthy. My only two complaints were that since there is an espresso bar, a beverage menu for the table would have been appreciated. Also, the food was a bit slow to arrive.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018

We dropped in for our first breakfast ever at the Red Chair Cafe. I hadn't heard about this place yet, and it was very empty on a Thursday morning, compared to the other Anchorage favorite. I hear that it's pretty full on weekends, but it deserves lines out the door every day. I don't know why someone called it a "hole in the wall," except that it's a ways down the street from the big hotels. We loved the luxury of starched white cloth napkins, the quirkiness of the murals, and the looks of the to-go baked goods. The music was a bit too rocking for a quiet breakfast, but we didn't ask to turn it down, so that's on us. We had the Smokehouse Salmon Benedict and the Kale Bake Skillet, and we ate every bite. Coffee was deliciously thick. Our waiter was fun, enthusiastic, but not overbearing. We saw many other things on the menu that we want to try, so we'll be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

The woman at the rental car counter at the airport told us about this little breakfast place and we were so happy that she did. We didn't want to eat at any chain diner for breakfast and this was just what we were looking for. Great service, inventive menu choices and nice trendy atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GatorFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast and treated myself to an excellent omelet. Place was busy but not so there was not room. Combined it with an Americano. Very enjoyable. I will go back, (probably tomorrow).

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank theeluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

There were many pluses on our two visits to The Red Chair Cafe for breakfast, but it's so popular we had to wait about 30 minutes for our main dishes and on both occasions, signature dishes weren't available.

Still, the art-filled dining room, sophisticated omelets and egg scrambles, and side dishes like Seared Asparagus appealed to me and other people who try to eat healthy.

The Kale Bake Skillet, for example was gluten free and included asparagus, cremini mushrooms, grape tomatoes, zucchini, sliced almonds, and a light mustard vinaigrette; was finished with aged white cheddar cheese and topped with 2 eggs your way ($15.50).

On my second visit, I had the Fire-Roasted Poblano Pepper (hold the sausage) stuffed with scrambled eggs, mushrooms, sweet red pepper, onions, aged white cheddar, cucumber crema and house salsa, and served with "our SteamPunk Potatoes" ($15.75).

Compare the elaborate breakfast dishes at reasonable prices at The Red Chair Cafe to The White Spot Cafe, which charges $13 for a basic Veggie Omelet with potatoes and toast.

But on both visits to The Red Chair Cafe, the restaurant was out of "salmon bacon" for the Salmon Benedict, and also didn't have a new item, Shakshuka (2 eggs poached in a white wine-tomato sauce), available with Reindeer Sausage.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank victorsN2770KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Chair Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing