We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2006

This place was absolutely GREAT! Like the other reviewer stated, there are things everywhere at this place, and we loved it. We didn't have a lot of time to spend in Anchorage, so no museums for us, but this B&B is pretty much like a museum. The paintings were largely done by the innkeeper's mother. The huge brown bear rug on the wall was shot by the innkeeper's father in self-defense. This place is a true Alaska original without trying too hard, and Carol is the real deal with no pretention at all about her. The room we stayed in was very nice- the Grizzly Room, I believe, and unlike the other review, we thought the bathroom was the most genius use of space we'd ever seen. We stayed in a "B&B" in Fairbanks that was simply a woman's spare bedroom with a shared bath, and the bathroom in a closet is a great way to ensure every room as its own private bath. The garden out back is tremendous, and we had a great view of it from our room. Carol definitely goes the extra mile to make guests comfortable down to the gourmet chocolate on your pillow. We had a very early flight out the next morning, and she was up at 5 am with hot boxed breakfasts for us ready to go. Plus, the breakfast frittata was amazing with reindeer sausage. We will recommend this place to everyone we know as it is an extraordinary value for your money, convenient to the airport and downtown, and has FAR more character than a Sheraton or other chain hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lanalynn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2005

If you like homes that are very personalized, with knick-knacks everywhere, then this is the place for you. There was so much stuff on every surface and corner that there was barely room for us. I was amazed at how clean the place was with so many things to dust.

The host is very talkative. If you like to chat, that's great. If you're looking to dash in and out quickly, you may not like it. Breakfast was excellent, with an emphasis on local products.

The room was nice and cozy, but the private bathroom was weird. It was in a closet. When you open the closet door, the light goes on. No sneaking into the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking your companion! The room with the twin beds has a real bathroom, but the other two have the closet thing.

We liked the location, near the train station and the road out of town to Denali. The neighborhood looked to be a bit marginal, but I have nothing to compare it to. It could be the norm for Anchorage. The price was very reasonable.

7  Thank Dealsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michele f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeissBierVampir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
2.8 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,900 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
2.9 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#4 of 126 in Anchorage
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#3 of 126 in Anchorage
323 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
#9 of 126 in Anchorage
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing