We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out For The Bear”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watch Out For The Bear”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

When we first got here my friends wanted to kill me for making the reservations. They soon were won over by Carol. She runs a lovely bed and breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful. The grounds and gardens were nice. The home is not located in a very nice neighborhood and my room had a bathroom and shower in a converted closet! At least we stayed only one night. I would not stay here again, because of the bathroom and shower (unusable).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are looking for a stay in a real Alaskan home, this is the place. The rooms are filled with true Alaska artifacts including a bear rug. The breakfasts are, however, the highlight of any stay. Carol cooks true alaskan recipes with local ingredients. Everything is delicious. You won't go away hungry. The rooms are spacious and very quiet and clean. You do need to be prepared for some steep stairs if you are staying upstairs and for a quirky bathroom. Overall, however, our 5 nights at Big Bear were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Take one of the upstairs rooms so you can have easier access to the guest common room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo,California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the Big Bear Bed and Breakfast and the hospitality of Carol and her daughter. We had the Denali room, it is very big. comfortably fit us and our two sons..the atmosphere...excellent..so peaceful and relaxed..the breakfast..AMAZING! If we ever need to stay in Anchorage again this is where I will go..Carol is an excellent hostess...so helpful and gracious..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woburn, ma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Carol runs a fabulous place at a great price with an amazing breakfast! Just a short drive from downtown anchorage the big bear is a great value with loads of authentic alaskan decor. I suggest the Toklat room and make sure that you save room for the salmon quiche or the home made waffle toppings.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phifunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The owner/innkeeper was very gracious, informative and served a wonderful breakfast. The room was comfortable except for the bathroom that was a converted closet with an accordian door that didn't close completely - a little clumsy and tight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsaxtonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a mid-summer Alaskan cruise/land vacation. The home was situated in an urban area close enough to the airport for convenience. Our room downstairs was quite large and included a sitting area with TV and a very nice bath with jetted tub and separate shower. It was clean and a nice touch were the chocolates on either side of the roomy bed. It was quite eclectic and victorian in decor and there was a lovely garden out back. I thought the neighborhood looked a bit sketchy but the home had a security system so I'm sure it was safe. Hosts Carol, her daughter and grandaughter were quite welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed a nice continental-type breakfast with waffles and home fixed native berries. I would recommend for an overnight stay before or after trekking out to the beautiful Alaskan interior.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

House was just a lovely place, good food and nice hosts. The neighbor hood was a bit rough as their seemed to be some drugs in the area. Strange goings on's around the street and local area. We made a wrong turn and got stuck behind a beautiful young girl and this black young man walked across the front of her car and she opened the door and he got in leaving the door open and she waved us past her. We would say a drug deal going on by the looks of it!! Our friends in Anchorage told us it was a rough area of Anchorage. Don't think we would have liked walking around the streets, but felt safe in the house.

Room Tip: If you are with a friend and need two beds I wouldn't recommend the Tolkat room. The beds was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
2.7 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
38 reviews
2.9 mi away
Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn
Camai Bed and Breakfast Inn
#26 of 127 in Anchorage
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creekwood Inn
Creekwood Inn
#33 of 73 in Anchorage
259 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Walkabout Town B&B
Walkabout Town B&B
#11 of 127 in Anchorage
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing