We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The owner/innkeeper was very gracious, informative and served a wonderful breakfast. The room was comfortable except for the bathroom that was a converted closet with an accordian door that didn't close completely - a little clumsy and tight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsaxtonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastman, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a mid-summer Alaskan cruise/land vacation. The home was situated in an urban area close enough to the airport for convenience. Our room downstairs was quite large and included a sitting area with TV and a very nice bath with jetted tub and separate shower. It was clean and a nice touch were the chocolates on either side of the roomy bed. It was quite eclectic and victorian in decor and there was a lovely garden out back. I thought the neighborhood looked a bit sketchy but the home had a security system so I'm sure it was safe. Hosts Carol, her daughter and grandaughter were quite welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed a nice continental-type breakfast with waffles and home fixed native berries. I would recommend for an overnight stay before or after trekking out to the beautiful Alaskan interior.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

House was just a lovely place, good food and nice hosts. The neighbor hood was a bit rough as their seemed to be some drugs in the area. Strange goings on's around the street and local area. We made a wrong turn and got stuck behind a beautiful young girl and this black young man walked across the front of her car and she opened the door and he got in leaving the door open and she waved us past her. We would say a drug deal going on by the looks of it!! Our friends in Anchorage told us it was a rough area of Anchorage. Don't think we would have liked walking around the streets, but felt safe in the house.

Room Tip: If you are with a friend and need two beds I wouldn't recommend the Tolkat room. The beds was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our last night in Alaska after having stayed in b&b lodging for most of our 12 days. We stayed in an upstairs room with the ensuite bathroom where the lavatory and sink and small shower were accessed through folding doors. Small but functional. The upstairs had a sitting area and we did enjoy having a microwave and choice of tea bags and assorted hot cocoa mixes. She pointed out a variety of DVDs and videos about Alaska to watch on the TV. Lots of travel brochures available as well so the place appeared a little cluttered but homey. Good breakfast of a filled egg roll, reindeer sausage and sour dough waffles. We had breakfast with another couple and Carol divided each waffle in quarters among us. Nice so we could sample each fruit sauce individually although it seemed a little different way. It did keep the waffles fresh and hot. This would be a good place to start a trip if you were still unsure what to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The bedroom, grizzly room, I think, was very comfortable with beautiful pictures on the wall. Bathroom was very small due to being a toilet, sink and shower fitted into a former closet. There was a wonderful guest room shared by all guests which had coffee, all kinds of tea, hot chocolate, popcorn, DVDs, books and some games. Also a refrigerator that could be used by the guests. Breakfast was wonderful. Carol was a great cook. She served us delicious waffles and all kinds of special toppings. Also an egg and potato casserole. The only negative was she served some kind of a delicious looking breakfast pie to the other family that we were with. They had stayed there for a night, 3 days earlier so they got the pie which my husband and I could only enjoy visually and we got the waffles. A taste would have been nice. Despite this minor annoyance, I would give the overall rating excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at Carols B&Bfor 2 nights in March for my daughters graduation from college. We had the larger room and it was very accomodating. There were 5 of us. Carol put in a rollaway for my sone and then my mother and sister each had a double/queen bed and then my husband and I had a queen. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and had a big tub, a shower and then a seperate small area with a toilet and sink so if someone was in the shower someone else could still use the restroom.
Although the room was great the hospitality was even more wonderful!!! Carol and her daughter were very friendly and helpful. Carol is a retired Home Ec teacher so I can't tell you how wonderful the food was....she is full of stories from the homestead ages as well as from her life as a teacher. Although we stayed in the winter months, Carol grows her own berries and rhubarb and preserves them for her guest to enjoy off season. Her cooking was fantastic as well as her presentation. Her plates and table were very eye appealing.
This is a super place to crash and eat!!! I would reccomend to anyone for any amount of time you can stay...
Kathy French
Soldotna, AK

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Carol’s flowers and garden frame Big Bear. Her master gardener skills and knowledge come into the kitchen to blend with her master culinary arts. Carol is a superb baker as well as a cook. Her presentation of her food captures the visual beauty of Alaska. Big Bear is a living tribute to the state of Alaska. Her many display’s of Alaskan art, native crafts, big bear skin and various ivory pieces blend with her antiques to show her creativity. Carol is truly a steward for the state of Alaska. I encourage everyone visiting the state to treat themselves to Big Bear hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and anything you would need is already provided for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
2.8 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#4 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Ingra House
#66 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Maria's Creekside B&B
Maria's Creekside B&B
#17 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing