We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

This was our first stop after we arrived in Alaska. Carol was great. She is a wealth of information and was very helpful in helping us plan our day. She even got up early to take us to the train station with a breakfast of salmon Quiche all packaged and ready to go. She has her own garden in her back yard and makes her own jams and syrups. Great place to stay. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pdjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed one night at the Big Bear (in the Glacier Room), and were very charmed by the Owner, decor, and genuine Alaskan hospitality! When we got there, Carol was in themidst of canning 50+ lbs of fresh Kenai River salmon -- an experience in itself to observe! Carol was very helpful when we needed to find a place to get dinner the night we checked in, and gave us coupons for 3 different places as we headed out the door! The rooms are thoroughly decorated by their themes, and I completely agree with the other reviewer that said that this place was like walking through a museum! There are knick knacks, paintings, pelts, and charm everywhere!! Our bed was very comfortable (complete with chocolates on the bedside tables!), and the bathroom was a very creative use of space! I disagree with the reviewer who said they were weird and you couldn't use the bathroom without disturbing your companion...unless you took a shower in the middle of the night, as the light only turns on automatically when you open the door to reveal the shower and closet with towels. Breakfast was fantastic...sourdough waffles, handpicked berries, hash browns, and reindeer sausage. Carol kept us entertained with stories of the history of her sourdough starter, tales of berry picking while moose hunting, and stories of previous generations of her Alaskan family. I wish we would have been able to stay there more than one night, and if our next trip to Alaska requires a stay in Anchorage, we will definitely do our best to reserve a room here again!

  • Liked — Alaskan culture
  • Disliked — ??
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zippy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

If anyone has ever traveled to Alaska, you know that it can be quite the expensive venture! If you're a B&B traveler like us, you won't find a better deal than Big Bear in Anchorage!! We ended up getting there a day earlier and unfortunately, Big Bear was already booked that night so we ended up staying in a nearby hotel. We paid TWICE as
much for conditions that were sub par to the B&B. Big Bear offers rooms/beds that are very comfortable and clean, there are plenty of amenities and the innkeeper (Carol) will make sure you have an excellent home-cooked meal (complete with yummy local ingredients) before you leave each morning. You really couldn't ask for more!
Marco & Lisa from aloveproject.net

  • Liked — the value & breakfasts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank aloveproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

Our stay at Big Bear at the beginning of June got our Alaska trip off to a wonderful start. Our rooms were very nice -- comfy beds, antique furniture and Alaskan decor. The place is like living in a mini-museum! The meals were outstanding; Carol, your hostess, is a former home ec teacher. (She taught me how to make her yummy bear claws.) Her stories about life in Alaska are even better than her great food! It is in an older part of town...but was a wonderful and interesting place to stay!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank emeraldisle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

This property is out of town but bery close to lovely restaurants. Th einnkeeper is more than willing to accommodate early departures with a SPECTACULAR breakfast and a ride to the train station. We could not have been happier unless our trip included more nights at this lovely B&B. The common areas are filled with lovely Alaskan art objects on display and the coffee is there for the making in the early AM.

As a former Alaskan resident I HIGHLY recommend this property as a VERY lovely place to stay while visinging this GREAT LAND!

Douglas

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Douglas Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

This place was absolutely GREAT! Like the other reviewer stated, there are things everywhere at this place, and we loved it. We didn't have a lot of time to spend in Anchorage, so no museums for us, but this B&B is pretty much like a museum. The paintings were largely done by the innkeeper's mother. The huge brown bear rug on the wall was shot by the innkeeper's father in self-defense. This place is a true Alaska original without trying too hard, and Carol is the real deal with no pretention at all about her. The room we stayed in was very nice- the Grizzly Room, I believe, and unlike the other review, we thought the bathroom was the most genius use of space we'd ever seen. We stayed in a "B&B" in Fairbanks that was simply a woman's spare bedroom with a shared bath, and the bathroom in a closet is a great way to ensure every room as its own private bath. The garden out back is tremendous, and we had a great view of it from our room. Carol definitely goes the extra mile to make guests comfortable down to the gourmet chocolate on your pillow. We had a very early flight out the next morning, and she was up at 5 am with hot boxed breakfasts for us ready to go. Plus, the breakfast frittata was amazing with reindeer sausage. We will recommend this place to everyone we know as it is an extraordinary value for your money, convenient to the airport and downtown, and has FAR more character than a Sheraton or other chain hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lanalynn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2005

If you like homes that are very personalized, with knick-knacks everywhere, then this is the place for you. There was so much stuff on every surface and corner that there was barely room for us. I was amazed at how clean the place was with so many things to dust.

The host is very talkative. If you like to chat, that's great. If you're looking to dash in and out quickly, you may not like it. Breakfast was excellent, with an emphasis on local products.

The room was nice and cozy, but the private bathroom was weird. It was in a closet. When you open the closet door, the light goes on. No sneaking into the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking your companion! The room with the twin beds has a real bathroom, but the other two have the closet thing.

We liked the location, near the train station and the road out of town to Denali. The neighborhood looked to be a bit marginal, but I have nothing to compare it to. It could be the norm for Anchorage. The price was very reasonable.

Helpful?
7 Thank Dealsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
2.8 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.7 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#31 of 128 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Maria's Creekside B&B
Maria's Creekside B&B
#16 of 128 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#4 of 128 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing