We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Skip this place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skip this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beds killed my back Tried both of the queens in my room, both horrible, Old and need replacing, Bathroom moldy, Must live out of your suitcase, Internet sucks, area sucks, drunks walking around, For the price, sleep in your car!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soccerstudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AD_Hotel, Manager at Anchorage Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello:
I am sorry to hear that your stay with The Anchorage Downtown Hotel was unpleasant. We are under new Management, and we are striving each and everyday to make our Guests hotel accommodations as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A lot of upgrades have taken place since your stay with us; and we would really love to have you as a guest again in the near future. This will be our First year being open "year round" We are also participating in both Weekly, and Monthly accommodations during the Winter months. Thank you again for providing a review on TripAdvisor.com.

Regards,
Amy R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    41
    33
    36
See reviews for
22
73
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel description on the hotel webpage and booking.com is false. No free airport shuttle this costs 15 dollars The breakfast room as depicted with tables does not exist only a board on the reception wall can be used in the celler. When I asked on the 11.05.2013 about the 24 hour reception I was told we dont have that it ended about 10:30 pm Rooms very small advice do not pay before seeing management ignores complaints

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterWillich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

So I was here in November 2012 for a week, one good tip if you gonna checkin after 10pm than let the Hotel know in advance I coudnt get in after this hour and had to checkin into a another Hotel for my first night. But after all the Room and Place has been great aswell the Breakfast was alright, so for the wintertime the Hotel is pretty good dont know how it is at the Summer Time, but its like 1 min by foot till you will get to the Downtown.
So for sure I would recommend this Hotel as the Staff there was pretty friendly to me and the Room was neat and the Roomrate was alright aswell (for Alaska prices).
For sure you can go to the Marriott just next to it but be prepared to pay over 200$ per night and the Breakfast/Internet is not included in the Rate. So I think I have chosen it alright the Anchorage Downtown Hotel, and anyway you will spent most of the time outside and explore Alaska so the Hotel is alright for that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaKrupka711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Decwnt enough property, not the best area. Super hot (fine when chilly) but no way to adjust. Window open works while there but hope noisy neighbors don't bother you. If you had biz for a week ok, microwave, fridge etc.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrazyKYYOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Our stay in Anchorage was short and this hotel had everything we needed: convenient, clean, free parking, microwave, fridge, Internet, continental breakfast... and a very fair price. Beds were so comfy and the TV was HUGE! Room was a bit small but it really didn't matter since we were gone all day every day. Definitely would recommend this place for the easy-going travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soldotna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were scheduled to stay here & were not able to due to a medical emergency.The room was prepaid.When we asked for a credit for future trips to Anchorage(3hr drive for us) we were told no we needed to cancell 3 days in advance.The medical emergency was out of our hands,mom had to go to ER.I have emailed the hotel & owner after calling the hotel & have never gotten a response.Very wrong!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a pleasant weeks stay at the Downtown Hotel. It's not the nicest hotel, but by no means is it a roach motel. The breakfast was nice, even if the dining room is a bit small.

The location can't be beat -- a short walk to downtown Anchorage and it's restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable, the tv was nice and the price was great.

The only bad thing that happened was that they had some issues with the fire alarms two days in a row when we were there, so they went off very early in the mornings. Not ideal, but that's life and we got past it.

All in all, this hotel is a great deal for the price and location. We will say here again should we ever return to Anchorage.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#25 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#17 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#47 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
#38 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-3332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small (16 rooms) boutique type hotel. Free parking. This hotel is great for the traveler that does not want or need all the noise and hustle associated with the large chains. We are quite, social, safe, clean. We offer good clean rooms at a reasonable price. Our guest stay between 1-21 nights. Business travellers, vacationers, tours, students, military all like staying here. Restaurants, shopping, nightlife, are all just down the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing