We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Much Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

So, we arrive in Anchorage, thinking we'll just find an apartment and move in, just like we have done in other states. Uh uh. No apartments and all the hotels are either really sketchy or mucho deniro. So, we stop in to the Downtown Hotel "for one night" and ended up staying 4 nights, and ultimately renting an offsite apartment through the property management company that shares the space. The Hotel room was cute, warm, and cozy. The neighborhood is fine, it's a short walk to many restaurants and the downtown area. Great running and biking routes nearby - Coastal Trail is not far. Continental breakfast each morning was a nice treat!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    42
    35
    42
See reviews for
24
78
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here in September and although it was pretty nice outside (mid-60s during the day), the heat was on all the time. They leave the windows open before you check in, but there are no screens and the neighborhood is a bit run down so I didn't want to leave the window open when I was there. The heat quickly became unbearable and there is no way to adjust it. Hotel staff acted like they couldn't adjust it either. Free wi-fi, okay breakfast. The airport shuttle cost $15 a person, each way.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor -- if you have to leave the windows open, at least you don't have to worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

port orford, oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This older hotel is a nice surprise. We arrived late in the evening, and found a comfortable room, large and with two very big windows. There was good and free wifi. The beds were very nice and clean, and the shower was wonderful. It was a little loud with traffic noise, but it is in the center of Anchorage, and very convenient to all the attractions, so that was to be expected. There was a very spartan continental breakfast, but at least you could start the day with coffee, juice, and a little extra. You will probably want to go out for a full breakfast, but that is nearby. The shuttle was very prompt from the airport, and also to the train station on the morning of our departure for Seward and an Alaskan cruise, all complimentary. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerzdevlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frbill92@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
217 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I went to this hotel expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived in Anchorage early and they permitted early check in and an upgrade to my booked room. I was in a king. The bed was very comfortable . . the best on this trip. There was a large flat screen TV in the room. Internet service. In the room at no additional charge. The location was great. A short walk to the city center. I have stayed in other downtown Anchorage hotels including the Westmark and this was the best for the price. It is a little funky and not for everyone but I liked it. Request an outside room with a window and you will be fine. I would stay here again on future trips because the price and location are great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is an older hotel with clean rooms, great staff, and a free shuttle to the airport, but far from the "boutique" they advertise. The $200 a night room I stayed in on the second floor was a completely interior room with only one window that opened out to an interior hallway where people were walking back and forth. Stifling hot, stuffy and weird. If you need a shuttle, try the Clarion nex door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayday7278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a long term stay, this would probably not be it. We stayed over nite and for that is was enough. They do offer continental breakfast which was nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ineedavacation13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel had very friendly staff and a great shuttle service taking you where ever you want to go for free. However the room was much below average for the price. The carpets were badly stained and bare in patches, there was mould in the shower, holes in the power plugs, the wardrobe door was not attached and had come off its hinges and the sheets appeared stained, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coops15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#53 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 16 room Boutique style hotel centrally located in Downtown Anchorage. There is an abundance of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see within walking distance. We offer clean, affordable, smoke-free and pet-free rooms. All of our rooms have their own mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom, and large flat screen TV. To better accommodate our guests we offer free parking, we also have 100+ cable channels - including HBO, complimentary WiFi internet throughout the hotel, and a continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7am-9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing