We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not All That Bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
frbill92@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
188 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Not All That Bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I went to this hotel expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived in Anchorage early and they permitted early check in and an upgrade to my booked room. I was in a king. The bed was very comfortable . . the best on this trip. There was a large flat screen TV in the room. Internet service. In the room at no additional charge. The location was great. A short walk to the city center. I have stayed in other downtown Anchorage hotels including the Westmark and this was the best for the price. It is a little funky and not for everyone but I liked it. Request an outside room with a window and you will be fine. I would stay here again on future trips because the price and location are great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    40
    29
    34
See reviews for
22
68
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is an older hotel with clean rooms, great staff, and a free shuttle to the airport, but far from the "boutique" they advertise. The $200 a night room I stayed in on the second floor was a completely interior room with only one window that opened out to an interior hallway where people were walking back and forth. Stifling hot, stuffy and weird. If you need a shuttle, try the Clarion nex door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayday7278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a long term stay, this would probably not be it. We stayed over nite and for that is was enough. They do offer continental breakfast which was nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ineedavacation13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel had very friendly staff and a great shuttle service taking you where ever you want to go for free. However the room was much below average for the price. The carpets were badly stained and bare in patches, there was mould in the shower, holes in the power plugs, the wardrobe door was not attached and had come off its hinges and the sheets appeared stained, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coops15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, La
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Anchorage Downtown Hotel is a quaint hotel with a great location and a wonderful staff who goes over and above to please their customers. Although the hotel is lacking a restaurant or coffee shop, there are many good eating places within walking distance of the establishment.
I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I agree with MMBonaire. We were not expecting a 5 star resort, but we were not expecting this either. This place actually came as a recommendationf rom one of the other bed and breakfasts we stayed, so we thought we were in for a treat... Carpets were filthy and the room we were placed in had a window that opened into a hallway- little privacy and fresh air for the smelly carpet. We were with friends who were in a seperate room with a missing smoke detector (not exactly safe), a broken refrigerator and a broken remote control. The beds were comfortable and sheets clean, but the way they advertise the hotel rooms on their website fooled us into believing that the rooms were going to be nicer than they were. (Notice they never show you any carpet shots). For $200/night, you'd expect better.
We too, stayed here at the end of a 2 week trip to Alaska, where every other place we stayed was leaps and bounds above this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank easy2bkeysey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Rooms are small but beds are comfortable. I have back problems and I slept better than I have in a while. Big TV and a small bathroom but it was just what we needed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rneal1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#37 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#24 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#19 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
#38 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small (16 rooms) boutique type hotel. Free parking. This hotel is great for the traveler that does not want or need all the noise and hustle associated with the large chains. We are quite, social, safe, clean. We offer good clean rooms at a reasonable price. Our guest stay between 1-21 nights. Business travellers, vacationers, tours, students, military all like staying here. Restaurants, shopping, nightlife, are all just down the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing