We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seafood delux”
Review of Sourdough Mining Co - CLOSED

Sourdough Mining Co
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“seafood delux”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

the sampler platter was great the fish was fresh and the chowder was some of the best i have ever had

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTexasTraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    64
    38
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food was good. Service ok. There were two huge parties going on so I think it would be better without that. The staff were running around trying to make sure guests got what they needed. Considering how busy it was we were happy with the service. Nice atmosphere. Good menu selection. Good place. Would gladly go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BAR845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here on a recent trip to Alaska. We found the atmosphere delightful. The service was acceptable plus. My husband had the Prime rib was tasty but it had a lot of fat for the price.
I had a seafood plate and it was excellent. Have plenty of time when you go there to eat as there are very busy and it takes awhile to get your food but overall would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loi31009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still great reasons to visit.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I still enjoy visits to the Sourdough Mining company although I have seen some negative reviews here. First of all they still have great signature foods such as corn fritters, honey butter, grilled salmon, and the ice cream service as well. The well drink prices were reasonable (drinking can be expensive in Alaska) and well poured.

It is easy to beat down places that cater to the tourists community however I believe if you skip this place you will miss out on a great dining experience. Be sure to visit the chocolate shop across the street as it is a great experience as well.

So, give it a go!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews I expected this restaurant to be less quality than the peanut farm, but we were pleasantly surprised! Great food and amazing service!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tkb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sourdough Mining Co also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing