We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at your fussy Aunt's house, but worse...”
Review of Walkabout Town B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walkabout Town B&B
Ranked #11 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2007

The owners of the Artic Fox B&B double-booked our room, so we were brought to this bed & breakfast instead. By the time we were done with breakfast, we couldn't wait to leave.

The house is in a residential neighborhood, on a busy main road, next to a public park. It is not a quiet secluded location, and it is also not very close to downtown Anchorage -- about a one-mile walk.

The room & bath were fine, but just steps away from the family's main living room, where they stayed up until after 11 pm talking loudly and watching TV.

The owners (a retired couple) live in the house, along with their adult son, his wife and infant child. There is little privacy, and the house rules change, depending on who you ask.

For example, we borrowed a laptop to check our email and the wife said go ahead and bring it to your room, you can use the wireless signal from there. Then the son was panicking because he didn't know we were using it and thought that the laptop had been stolen. He reprimanded us for not using the laptop in the living room area.

The breakfast was mediocre. We did not feel like guests, we felt like we were intruding in someone's home.

If you are in Anchorage, don't stay here -- find a more welcoming bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Home_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucianaflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt ein Haupthaus und ein Gästehaus, beide liegen unmittelbar nebeneinander, es gibt nur ein Zim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menckestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TizBia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy_Savin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdgronau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: No hay necesidad, todas son bonitas, cómodas y con baño propio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,900 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
292 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkabout Town B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkabout Town B&B

Address: 1610 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-5027
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $162 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walkabout Town B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed October - April 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Walkabout Town B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing