We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Best place to stay in Anchorage"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walkabout Town B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walkabout Town B&B
Ranked #11 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“"Best place to stay in Anchorage"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

"It was nice, clean, comfortable, and the food was simply outstanding. To that I say thank you Scott for the food, your hospitality and for your recommendations. We stayed a night. that night was the most comfortable night of my life. Thank you Scott for every thing."

Room Tip: "Rooms with blue blackout curtains become completely black"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    38
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
83
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had a consulting gig in Anchorage at the end of May so I went a few days early to explore Alaska. I stayed in this wonderful little B&B with the great hosts Sandy and Terry and their son, Scott. While a little dated, the property is clean and inviting. Comfortable beds, black out shades, good breakfast and wonderful Sandy stories. Sandy also recommended several restaurants, all of which were very good.

Room Tip: It was worth it to me to have a private bathroom. There was also a kitchen to share with another roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOGRETCHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was convenient, clean and comfortable with a good breakfast to start our day. We were gone most of the day and returned for rest and sleep at night. We walked to town and back daily - good exercise. A good financial deal compared to hotels and with the personal touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLd711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here before going on an Alaskan cruise. We arrived late and the keys were left out for us and labelled clearly. Cosy and clean room and great breakfast. Walking distance to downtown too. All round, can't fault.. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genkigirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We needed an overnight stay in Anchorage after dropping our hire car and picking up our cruise. It's easy to find and there are places to eat nearby. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was good, and our hosts most kind and helpful. After a week or so touring Alaska it was a real unexpected bonus to be able to use the washing machine and get up to date before embarking on our cruise. Well organised, well run B&B would certainly recommend it to anyone needing to stay on Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We visited Anchorage last summer (late August) after a Princess Cruise from Vancouver and wanted a place we could relax and take in the "vibe" of Anchorage. We found Walkabout to be the place - friendly hosts, good breakfasts and easy walk into the city centre. We ran a B&B in Australia for 10 years and know how hard it is to please everybody but they seem to do it right at Walkabout. Thank you to the hosts for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodgsonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Me and my lady friend had a great five day stay at this B&B in August of 2013. Sandy was very nice and accommodating, as well as informative. Before we came she told us about the best places to rent a car at great prices (for Alaska, that is. The car rental place actually took us to the Airport for free after returning our car). The Australian Room and Beds were comfortable and the private bathroom excellent and very clean. The breakfasts were wonderful, with a new special freshly prepared selection each day (the French Toast and Buttermilk Pancakes with REAL Maple Syrup were delicious) along with the regular items of juices and cereals, breads, breakfast meats, etc. Easy access (10 - 15 minute walk) to downtown and the Anchorage Museum and Mall. Free bikes were available to take for scenic Bike rides. Scott and his Wife, Sandy and Terry's Son and daughter in Law, were also very helpful and informative. They also fixed the Breakfasts.

We will stay there again for sure if we return to Alaska for more sight seeing.

.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room get one on the back side away from road traffic like we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkabout Town B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkabout Town B&B

Property: Walkabout Town B&B
Address: 1610 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-5027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walkabout Town B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed October - April 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Walkabout Town B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing