We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Walkabout Town Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$212
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$209
$167
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$257
$203
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$161
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$383
$369
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$229
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$159
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
114
40
10
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
40
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshomemade yogurtprivate bathroombike trailcustom breakfastcommon living areaquiet neighborhooda quick cab ridecentrally located to downtownbreakfasts were wonderfulgreat place to staywasher dryerwalking trailsnext morningearly flightexcellent breakfastkenai peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 171 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at Walkabout. The room was fine, the breakfasts were excellent, and our hosts were friendly and helpful. These were our first two nights in Alaska and around the breakfast table we got a lot of useful travel info from our hosts and the other guests. The Walkabout gets a strong recommendation from me

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobjennings101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Walkabout Town B&B is run by the Stimsons. Sandy and Terry founded it some twenty years ago to accomodate globetrotters like themselves. Now their son Scott runs it in a very professional manner when he spends the summer in Anchorage.
I had the "Australian Room" which would easily sleep three people all to myself with a private bath. Everything was very tidy. Breakfast is held in a winter-garden. It's not a fancy neighborhood but it's an easy 10 to 15 mins walk to downtown Anchorage or one can take the bus. I could leave my bag while I was away on a day trip (They even gave me a lunch-bag). Late arrival is also no problem since they leave a personal message and your key.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stwproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstimson, Owner at Anchorage Walkabout Town Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

What a wonderful review! Thank you for your kind description of our B&B. It is necessary to clarify that we provide breakfast bags for guests departing too early in the morning to eat our scrumptious cooked breakfast. We do not provide lunch bags.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Walkabout - the hosts were great, breakfast was delicious, and they even allowed us to store a salmon we caught in their freezer for 3 days while we traveled to Denali and back! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJK01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked a three-day stay at Walkabout B&B. Scott was outstanding in understanding and accommodating my "special needs" when making the reservation. A medical condition required me to cancel our trip. Scott refunded our deposit the same day I notified him of the cancellation. He invited us to consider them if and when we rebook our trip. We will!

Room Tip: Discuss your special needs, if any, with Scott -- even by email.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bennett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Alaska. The hosts were wonderful, and gave us lots of information to get us started. The neighborhood is not very picturesque, but it is quiet. We had a private bath with a double shower. Delicious breakfast! A wonderful start to a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank me_encanta_viajar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews