We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Wildlife and Denali flights

We did the Wildlife flight and the Denali flight, both were sensational, hard to believe the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
petermetinoz
What a great experience

I contacted Rust's Flying Service after a colleague who had gone recommended it. My husband and I... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Penny H
Read all 833 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Anchorage
from $39.00
More Info
from $245.00
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveler rating
721
44
21
14
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
721
44
21
14
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bear viewing lake clark float plane bear mountain lodge salmon hour flight katmai national park pilot bruce great flight beluga whales return flight experienced pilot glacier landing once in a lifetime flightseeing tour great pilot glacial lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great trip. We saw numerous bears in a very beautiful setting. Also flight there & back gave us a nice opportunity to sight other wildlife & scenery!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jdwagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was fantastic, a highlight of the holiday. Good organisation & communication, knowledgeable staff & the scenery WOW. The best way to see the scale of the glaciers. Only wish I'd done the bear trip with them.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a family of 6 and we absolutely loved this trip of a lifetime. Flights were very smooth. The pilots talked and pointed out sights from the air. The lodge was nice and lunch was awesome. We went out on a small boat with just 2 other people so 8 in total. We saw black, brown and blonde bears catching salmon up close. The lake was gorgeous and the bears were amazing. It was worth every penny. It was about an hour flight from Anchorage....very easy. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not sure this is the best place to review this, Rust's, who were great, provide the float plane flights in and out of Lake Clarke, but the actual bear viewing is organised by a separate company who run the lodge, boats, excellent guides etc. It probably doesn't matter as its all seamless and the highest level of service.

The detailed description in JM2007SJ's review exactly described out experience so won't repeat it here, we were lucky the weather was clear and bright so it probably couldn't be any better, Rust's pilot(s) were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to chat once clear of Anchorage, happy to drop down closer to the ocean when he spotted Beluga, or nearer some of the geographic features. And that was just the journey out and back.

The bear viewing itself is quite a long day and you are going to spend 5 or 6 hours on a small pontoon boat (albeit comfortable) with a good lunch break in the middle. Whilst the lake is quite big (and beautiful) you are never so far from the "camp" that an extra break or washroom stop can't be arranged. Hard to say how many bears we saw as we saw some more than once, but probably 15 sighting of 10 different bears including sow and cubs. If the bears co-operate you going to have 10-15 minutes at each sighting to watch them in the water and along the shore with great photo opportunities. You will probably be the only boat, maybe one other nearby.

Well, organised, excellent staff a real once in a lifetime opportunity, I don't very often attach photograph's but in this case have a look at what you might see and I have to tell you that the shots were taken with very little skill at photography or any special kit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time with Rust’s!!! Our pilot, Scott was engaging and knowledgeable. We had spectacular views of Denali but my favorite part was landing on the lake! Beautiful scenery, excellent company and amazing weather made for a fun day in Anchorage! I’d highly recommend Rust’s!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank nursewithhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews