We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. McKinley and lake landing...wow!”

Rust's Flying Service
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a flight our float planes to the real Alaska whether flight seeing glaciers and mountains, bear viewing at remote lodges and national parks or fly in fishing. We've been flying people to Alaska's wilderness since 1963; located at Lake Hood in Anchorage, Alaska.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mt. McKinley and lake landing...wow!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Mid-June my family and I flew out of Anchorage on a 9-seater plane for a three-hour flight-seeing tour. We headed towards McKinley with beautiful, clear views. The pilot narrated and answered all questions well. We circled around and over several mountain tops and glaciers. We landed on a lake that had only had the ice out for a week. After telling the pilot that I was hoping to see a moose, he swung down into some moose-friendly terrain....and we saw several moose! I would recommend this flight-seeing company. It was a trip to be remembered!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysLoveToTravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for writing; we are so glad that you enjoyed your trip. You state exactly the reasons that people enjoy Rust's flightseeing in a small plane- customized tours with your own pilot and seeing our beautiful state.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    23
    13
    5
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping scenery”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We did the flight seeing tour over Mt McKinley which had amazing scenery. Good narration by our pilot Mark. The shuttle bus ride to & from Lake Hood was a little disorganised but we appreciated the lift very much :). My only complaint was the terrible music being played through the headsets that you could turn down but not off. Personally would have preferred to sit quietly and enjoy the awesome view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DragonflyDazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for writing and we are glad that you enjoyed flying with Mark and sorry that you did not enjoy the music. We enjoy showing our visitors the special places in Alaska and glad that you got to see some.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, friendly and great flightseeing”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having initially tried to book a flightseeing tour through Alaska Tours, I was told it wasn't available and then phone up Rust's direct. They were very helpful and booked me onto the Prince William flightseeing tour. On the day, the weather in that direction wasn't great, so we ended up going the other way, over glaciers, up close and personal with the mountains and landing on a lake.
The flight was great, the service firnedly and helpful, the pick up timely and they even dropped me off at the shops downtown after. Can't fault it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip with us. We at Rust's pride ourselves on giving a great flightseeing experience. Due to Anchorage's location surrounded by beautiful mountain ranges, there are several alternatives for flightseeing if the weather is not great in one direction. We do try to be flexible and ensure that our clients get a great trip and I am glad that you had a good time and saw some of Alaska.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bumpy but Beautiful”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family of 5 was able to book this trip with just one week's notice. We were excited about this flightseeing tour, but at first unsure about it because of the price. We purchased the Denali/Mt. McKinley tour, and overall it was worth it. We saw some beautiful scenery, but were too high to spot any wildlife. The pilot was knowledgeable and friendly. Denali National Park was gorgeous and awe-inspiring. The ride back was incredibly turbulent and all of us (Except the pilot) got sick. This was the only downside to the tour. If one can afford it, it's definitely an experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
While we are glad that you enjoyed your flightseeing trip to Denali, we are sorry that it was bumpy on the way back. Sometimes the warm weather that we have been enjoying recently makes for a bumpy ride over the flat land on the return from Denali due to thermals. We obviously try to avoid that but it sounds like there wasn't much alternative. We do cancel trips if we feel that it is too rough for enjoyable flight seeing even if it is clear. Thanks for writing.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A new adventure”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This service was contracted for us by our vacation lodge. I was a bit nervous but that all soon dissipated as we took off and flew over the beautiful interior of Alaska on our way to our fishing lodge. Safety was first and foremost, the ride smooth and I look forward to another trip with Rusts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Rust's Flying Service, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for writing. Safety is extremely important to Rust's. Our pilots are very experienced in Alaska and float plant flying. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and hope that you fly with us again.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rust's Flying Service also viewed

 

Been to Rust's Flying Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing