We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will test your taste for wild adventure”

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race
Ranked #19 of 223 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This will test your taste for wild adventure”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you come to Alaska in the winter your a different breed so if you go to see the Iditarod and not go for a dog sled ride you are denying your true nature. The view is peculiar to say the least but a team of huskies is a big bucket of love and letting them take you for a ride is a once in a life time event. I am a lifer here born and raised. I will tell you if you are not willing to step out suffera little cold or strenuous exertion you should just stay home. Alaska is not a viewing sport in my book you need to step into it and live it. Rent, borrow or steal a snowmobile and get back country while your here the winter is the hidden secret of Alaska's accessibility. You can literally go anywhere. Well almost anyway. Lol The Iditarod is part of our great states personality we love it so enjoy but I highly recommend you do not try to change a thing about us or you will get a cheechako welcome and kick towards the border.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    37
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow Awesome”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

As A long time trainer of law Enforcment German Shepherds and a Lover of dogs there is nothing better than to come to Alaska And watch this in Person truely a once in alife time thing.
The city of Anchorage also puts on it's best for this event you can just feel the excitment in the air and in the dog teams Well worth the visit.Not to mention Alaska's natural beauty anyway!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior196209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbridge, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Iditarod Volunteer”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband, I and a friend signed up to be dog handlers at the ceremonial start of the Iditarod in Anchorage. It was a great experience to be a part of the Last Great Race and a great way to get up close with all the dogs and mushers. Best adventure this NY had ever been on!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the Dogs!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've actually been volunteers for 4 years at the other end of the race, the finish in Nome. Great experience, met nice people from Anchorage and all over AK. One of these years we may volunteer in Anchorage. I hear the Iditarod Museum in Wasilla (?) is great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Brillant, we got to play with the puppies, Also learned about the race and then went out to see the dogs run and all the other dogs, we loved it so much and would love to come back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cboswell35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race also viewed

 

Been to Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing