We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seward Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race
Ranked #18 of 215 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seward Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We toured the Seavey Farm in the Seward area. It was great - it was such an educational experience on how sled dogs are raised, etc and what truly happens during the Iditarod Race. Spencer our "guide" was fantastic. He was so knowledgable and had a great personality. You could easily identify the fact he was truly passionate about his job and about the dogs. He was GREAT!!! We had a great time and one that we will always remember. Thanks to the to whole staff for making this a great memory.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    37
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Whenever I travel, I like to get a feel for the place and this certainly did the trick. I got to learn what the Iditarod is all about by a very knowledgeable guide. Ride was fun as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_trip_planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I can't stop talking about this one! You come into the area where the dogs are kept. It is quiet. Then, they put a collar on one dog and the place comes alive! The other dogs are barking and spinning circles wanting to run! When the first sled pulled away, they all started howling and crying at the same time because they didn't get to go! It was amazing. Champion dogs at their best. Loved it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dpgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do you love dogs?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Dress warm and prepare for an amazing experience. These dogs love to run. Can't believe they'll be going over one thousand miles. They are inspiring.

Helpful?
Thank Squiditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Alaska experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Being in Anchorage for the ceremonial start is something everyone should experience, especially foes of dog racing. To see and hear the excitement of the dogs in really something. Then, after they leave, walk by the kennel-trucks where the dogs left behind are moping and wailing!

Helpful?
Thank MaynardEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race also viewed

 

Been to Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing