We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks and food you will want”

Humpy's Great Alaskan Alehouse
Ranked #16 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Cozy and casual local atmosphere. Friendly staff. Plenty of seating on the heated covered patio. Live music. Over 50 beers on tap. Fresh Alaskan seafood. For beer lovers by beer lovers.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Drinks and food you will want”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Beer is great. Many many choices. You seat yourself however it wasn't real busy. We had great food as well, choosing salmon dishes.

Helpful?
Thank LAD0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    951
    365
    87
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meshoppen
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Experience Alaska!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We asked at our hotel for the name of a restaurant where local folks go to eat. We went to Humpy's. What a fun time!! No place to sit but some local folks invited us to join them and we had a lovely visit, great cod and chips. If you ever visit Anchorage, be sure to go to Humpy's!!! Loud, busy but fun, fun, fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OAG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top five for Anchorage Recommendations”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a Bar and Grill with a lot of Alaska Atmosphere. If you only have one night in Anchorage go to the Glacier Brewhouse or Simon and Seaforts. But Humpy's is great for lunch or a second dinner in AnchorTown. Order the beer battered halibut. If you drink bloody marys they make some great ones here. If the weather is good sit out back (this is also the best place to park - beware not to get in one of the reserved city hall spaces on the west side of the parking lot) prices are fair for Anchorage. Portions are large.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good local flavor.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Live music, all walks of life, bar food and more. Come to have fun and people watch. Drinks are good price and staff is friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place was recommended from the bartender of our hotel.

We went on a Sunday night so it was not too busy.
I was in town only one night so I wanted to try the crab legs. The waitress recommended the golden crab as opposed to the more expensive red crab since it was crab season and the golden crabs were just as big.
I've never had king crab before and did not know what to expect but I received two long crab legs and a smaller one. I don't know what a pound of crab would be Ike but that did not seem like a pound. One of the legs was only half full of meat. Even though the waitress said the legs came out of the steamer, they were refrigerator cold to the touch. The meat seemed very wet and limp and not very tasty.
Overall not a good dining experience for my one night in anchorage.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hfdcttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humpy's Great Alaskan Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Humpy's Great Alaskan Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing