We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch find!”

Humpy's Great Alaskan Alehouse
Ranked #14 of 869 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cozy and casual local atmosphere. Friendly staff. Plenty of seating on the heated covered patio. Live music. Over 50 beers on tap. Fresh Alaskan seafood. For beer lovers by beer lovers.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great lunch find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'd been in Alaska for two weeks staying with family, and had not yet had even one bite of the famous Alaskan halibut! Having been recommended Humpys by my hotel concierge, I thought I'd give it a go.
From the outside, Humpy's makes you almost reconsider stepping in. It looks somewhat run down, and I was accosted twice outside by locals wanting "just a dollar." But in I went, and so glad I did! The decor is fun and eclectic. Menu is large and varied, with prices to match. I was a little surprised by the $20 price tag on halibut fish and chips, but the server assured me they were worth it. She also recommended a beer for me that was absolutely the best stout I've ever had. (sorry Guiness, but its true!) The HUGE portion of fish and chips was enough to share, but after one bite of the most tender, juicy and delicious halibut EVER, there is no way that I was going to. The accompanying fries were good, but not great. My friend had the Turkey, Bacon and Avocado wrap...it, too, was huge, and she had no desire to share it, either! We missed the make your own Bloody Mary day, but hers was perfectly mixed and served. This place makes me want to go back to Alaska just to have another meal there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista_jklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    861
    315
    78
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Classic AK bar scene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The food is basic and delicious. Hamburger and fries or something more exotic, Humpy's has it all. The drinks are well made and there is a large variety of Beer to chose from. A fun place to take friends from out of town or meet locals for good food and lots of laughs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Palmer_AlaskaSlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service, better beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just like most restaurants in Anchorage, the real highlight of this place is the fantastic beer that comes from the cities many micro breweries. Atmosphere is good in this pub/restaurant but like any other venue, be prepared to wait for a table. Our waiter was a great bloke who helped me out with recommendations for other watering holes around the joint. I came to try some the Alaskan salmon of which I had been given some rave reviews and I was far from disappointed. The vegetables and mash that accompanied the meal were absolute perfection. I found it a little busy for my liking as a drinking venue, but if you're here for a good meal with a good beer at a reasonable price, you could do a lot worse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Had high hopes but was not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to Humpy's because of a local in Anchorage highly recomended it. This I told her was I was looking for some great seafood but didn't want to pay and arm and a leg for it. The wait was very long, salad that I had was of low quality, Seafood (Halibut and Crap legs) were just OK at best. I have had better in Califorina. Service was not good, slow, no follow up and just plain not good at their job. The food was not paired well, items on my plate were cooled when they were to be hot, cold items were warm and other items just were not done well. Beer selection was very good and cold but that just does not do it for me. It has great promise but poor delievery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortugueseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Buffalo wings!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The wings were great, not to mention the other meals we had here. Good selection of beers as well. Actually picked up a cool hat in the Humpy's clothing store next door as well.

Helpful?
Thank Groover-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humpy's Great Alaskan Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Humpy's Great Alaskan Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing