We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst food we ever had”
Review of The Crow's Nest

The Crow's Nest
Ranked #22 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst food we ever had”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Worst dinner we ever had. Both of our fish dishes tested like defrosted fish cooked in a microwave oven with test-less sauces which felt like mushed soap. Do not go to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    70
    31
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Md
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner and couldn't have been more pleased. On the pricey side however I guess given the location and quality of food it was worth it. I had the Elk with none marrow and my wife had the scallops. Both were delicious as were the Caesar salad and Alaska oysters. I'd go again if I was in town. Service was great!

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Server and Food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Bright Side: We had a party of 6 in the Lounge last night and even though the food and drinks were wonderful, our waitress Katie made the night even better,
A couple things we ordered were the artisan cheese plate and the charcuterie, and she was extremely knowledgeable on everything on the plates, she didn't stutter once and said it with impeccable finesse. The kitchen forgot one thing on our plate, but it was fixed within minutes.
Katie was very accommodating and attentive and I think she deserves a raise.

Down Side: The hostess wasn't very nice, it appeared as though she was annoyed she had to speak to us.

I selected the "Terrible" rating for Families with children, because the Crows Nest turned away both of my nephews who were just trying to celebrate their Grandmas birthday.

But don't let the downside out weight the bright. If you sit in the lounge and are lucky enough to have Katie as your server, you will have a wonderful night!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CBeltrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“for a good time ... avoid the Crow's Nest”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I'd visited the Crow's Nest a few months back with friends and, while impressed with the beautiful room, we were completely unimpressed with the service. Our server was a pretentious wannabe who provided some of the worst service I've ever experienced. But, upon returning to Anchorage this trip with my wife, thought I'd take a chance and show my wife the room. We arrived with the intention of having dessert and drinks .. and our visit started off alright. We had a friendly server who took our order and we enjoyed the dessert and coffee drinks. When I tried to order another drink, she said she couldn't because it was past last call ... "oops, sorry I didn't stop by your table to give you last call and the bartender will be angry if I update your order because I already printed your bill." It was 10:30 PM. I think our server was sincere, but I am neither impressed by pretentiousness (1st trip) or sincere inefficiency (2nd trip). Let's just say, there won't be a 3rd trip to the Crow's Nest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeymooners012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I cant remember the name of the desert I had, I do have a picture that suitable for framing...yay that good!!! Hope to travel back soon

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crow's Nest also viewed

 

Been to The Crow's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing