We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try!”
Review of Orso

Orso
Reserve with OpenTable
Orso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: G
Transit: We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.
Description: ORSO is well known as "The Place to Be." ORSO's New American cuisine expertly pairs delicious local flavors with the ever changing seasons of Alaska. ORSO is well known for a large selection of Alaskan seafood, grilled meats, award winning wine list and the best local ingredients when available. Happy hour everyday 3pm-6pm and 9pm to close! The bar is open one hour after the dining room each day!
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My group of four went here as a second choice to the very busy, noisy urban restaurant next door. By far a smart decision on our part. I had the Halibut and it melted in my mouth, soooo good. Also had the daily soup, a creamy fish chowder that contained salmon and clams. Another great choice. Another in the group had Lamb shank and raved over it. Prices were high, but food was quite worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItzKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    406
    135
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious food, walked in and got a table”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Caned to Orso after being given an hour wait time at a restaurant down the block. I was glad we decided to give Orso a shot. The food was delicious and we walked in and they sat us immediately. May have been timing, but it was great after a long flight from Atlanta. Nice atmosphere. Semi-Formal or shorts would not feel out of place here. Great rockfish and I typically am not a fan of fish or seafood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food was delicious and presentation great. Seafood is their specialty and we enjoyed crab Mac n cheese as well as crab stuffed cod. The food wasn't cheap but it was one of the best meals we had in Anchorage.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TropicalFun253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here 2x......and enjoyed both meals. For some reason we sat upstairs both times. Be sure you get reservations as they are very busy during the summer season!
I had a small meal both times....satisfying and tasty!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sunny98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anchorage Downtown dining”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed a Friday night dinner at Orso. We ordered the seafood deviled eggs which were not bad (not necessarily a must have but good). The black bean soup was not great and I would not recommend. The king salmon was good not particularly a favorite, but we do typically prefer white fish. The crab cakes were good, and the creme brûlée and lava cake were quite good. Overall we would recommend (would rate as average).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKReviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing