We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour!”
Review of Orso

Orso
Reserve with OpenTable
Orso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: G
Transit: We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.
Description: ORSO is well known as "The Place to Be." ORSO's New American cuisine expertly pairs delicious local flavors with the ever changing seasons of Alaska. ORSO is well known for a large selection of Alaskan seafood, grilled meats, award winning wine list and the best local ingredients when available. Happy hour everyday 3pm-6pm and 9pm to close! The bar is open one hour after the dining room each day!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great happy hour!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the better happy hours in Anchorage. Half price apps and daily drink specials make for a nice place to stop by on a relaxing afternoon.
Solid apps include bruschetta, steak tips and ravioli. I don't eat seafood but those with me raved about the calamari app as well.
I have had the red wine flight a couple of times and enjoyed it immensely.
When in Anchorage check out Orso for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PassTravelF00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    406
    135
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome. Fabulously Delicious.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We came in for lunch and were seated promptly by the very friendly and polite hostess.

Our waitress was very polite. We ordered the French Dip and the Lamb Sliders; both with the Clam Chowder... all of it was very delicious.

I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Good for large groups and vegetarians”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This seems to be a very popular restaurant. It was very busy but large enough that the wait was not long for a large party even without reservations. Service was very good, food was tasty and prices were average for downtown. They were very good about making substitutions and offered to make dishes not on the menu for vegetarians.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ORSO restaurant”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is owned by the same people that own Brewhouse and the food and service is excellent. This restaurant has more of an Italian theme to the food. Service was attentive and the wait staff knew about the different items on the menu when asked for information to the items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdodge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
910 reviews
620 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“We were walk ins and welcomed!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were walking around and this looked inviting. We walked in without reservations and were welcomed. There was a wait for a table, so we were invited into the bar to have a beer and relax. We were impressed with the tables, booths, and long bars areas. One area was two sided so we could sit across from each other. The servers were friendly and warm. We decided to have an appetizer. When they came to escort us to a table we had decided we were very comfy and decided to eat where we were. The food is excellent. We had crab cakes and Halibut fish and chips? Beer, local on tap? The servers made it a great experience!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing