We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the cops eat here you know the place is good!”
Review of Lucky Wishbone

Lucky Wishbone
Ranked #18 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If the cops eat here you know the place is good!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Really I have never had a bad meal at the Lucky Wishbone! The staff are awesome, they make you feel like family! Quick service, clean and happy place to eat. Dine in or take out, they have never failed the community and the place is usually packed depending on the day and hour!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    97
    38
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
“Love the Bone”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Being going to the Wishbone for many years and really have enjoyed going for the food and the service. Always glad to see George Brown the owner

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardinal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“neighborhood scary”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

alot of the street people hang around the cafe as there are close by sleep off centers for alcoholic. I like the malts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner with amazing fried chicken and service.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Get ready to step back in time in this wonderful dinner on the outskirts of downtown Anchorage. The service is friendly, very prompt, and our waitress happily answered the questions I had. My friend had a ham and cheese sandwich which he said was good and looked like it was straight out if the '50s. I ordered the large five piece fried chicken "meaty" and picked the pieces I wanted. Get the wishbone piece as it is amazing, juicy, and crispy deliciousness. The French fries are excellent if you like thin and crispy. If you like fried chicken you are going to love this never frozen golden brown goodness!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSnowHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken in a comfortable atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

It had been years since I had been to the Lucky Wishbone and I heard it had sold so I was not expecting it to be the great place it had been on the past. I was pleasantly surprised. This Anchorage icon was exactly as I remembered it.

First, the hand dipped strawberry milkshake made with real strawberries was great. You have 3 sizes and lots of flavored to choose from.

The Lucky Wishbone was always known for wonderful fried chicken and it is still living up to its reputation. The chicken was cooked perfectly and was not overly greasy or dry. The fries and corn muffin that came with it were great as well.

The music from the 40s and the old Anchorage photos on the walls make for a relaxing atmosphere.

We really enjoyed our visit and will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresainAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Wishbone also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing