We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southside Bistro

Southside Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Southside Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Huffman Carrs
Transit: Public People mover bus service stops right in front.
Brandon, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a wonderful evening. Wonderful food, the mussels in saffron cream broth was perfectly prepared, the bowl of clam chowder could have been a meal onto itself. i had the veal with scalloped potatoes, and the sauce was perfection and the potatoes delicious. It was a busy saturday night so the service was perhaps a tiny bit slow, but they were all hustling. We had to change our reservation time and that did not seem to bother anyone at all.
By far, the BEST meal we had in Alaska, and the price was really reasonable

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahk408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Cuisine that misused sauces and seasoning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The food was plated tower style with a green mystery sauce oozing from the bottom. I had The pork snitzel perched on cold mashed potatoes . Salty thick and tasting like chicken. My sister had Salmon with the same green mystery sauce. The service was fine but there are better restaurants. in Anchorage . Enjoy them.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seahorse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

it was just fabulous and would go back for sure.The food and sevice was superb and the wait staff were , too.

It should be a must if your in that area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sondralucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Start with the Mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Time after time Southside Bistro continues to impress us. This South Anchorage restaurant does it all right. The mussels in saffron cream broth are addicting. You will need to sop up every last drop of the broth with their yummy homemade sourdough bread. We have been to this restaurant many times and we have never been disappointed. We enjoyed the arugula salad and pasta with duck breast, sweet peas and carrots last night. Too bad we were too full for dessert!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice food, kind of expensive though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

It's a seafood/steakhouse with a decent wine list, don't be deceived by the outside image.
From the look of it most people were locals, and the room was pretty much full.
Dinned for 3 with 3 drinks cost us about $150.
Dessert was excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Southside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing