We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 897 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th and 5th
Transit: We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.
Description: Daily Happy Hour: 3-6pm & 9-Close. Known by the locals simply as "Simon's," we are an Anchorage landmark with beautiful panoramic views overlooking Cook Inlet of Mount Susitna and the Alaska Range giving guests a true Alaska dining experience. Our classic American grill has been artfully serving quality USDA prime-aged steak, fresh and innovative seafood since 1978. Chef James Sheppard has worked at Simon & Seafort's for 16 years and is an expert at preparing Alaska seafood. Crab stuffed Alaska halibut, Asiago crusted Halibut Cheeks, Wild Alaska salmon and rock salt roasted prime rib. Take advantage of our two hours of validated parking in the Captain Cook garage and enjoy a daily lunch, dinner or perhaps a special business or romantic occasion in our inviting and spacious dining room. Join our longtime friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests and see why we are known locally for the best view and best seafood in Anchorage.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Ate here with large group. It is a tad bit pricey, but there's not much in Alaska that isn't. We sat by the window overlooking the water which was gorgeous! Would recommend this place to try

Thank Cdecker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our breathtaking view, and we thank you for recommending us! - The Simon's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,168 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have always liked Simon's and have been going there for years. However, we decided to go there for Sunday brunch/lunch last week and it was a great experience. The menu was varied and included breakfast items as well as sandwiches and lunch entrees. They even have a bloody mary bar which is quite fun. The food is reliably high quality at Simon's and the view of the cook inlet is expansive. If you want, there are also excellent tables in the bar. The staff is great, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you very much for the positive review. We have been offering brunch for nearly 2 years now, but it still seems as though no one has noticed. It really makes our day to hear you had such an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you soon for another weekend Bloody Mary!

Cheers,

The Simon's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place has amazing food and great views. I have never had a bite here that was less than delicious. The only reason I give it four stars is because i have been here several times for happy hour when they have discounted mojitos and martinis. These are pre-mixed with sugary syrups and are way too sweet. When I order a drink I want a well-balanced one, not one that tastes like a lollipop. Steer clear of those and this place is amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for the kind words about our food, but we would certainly like to apologize for the less-than-enjoyable cocktails. Please do come in again, we are able to make any cocktail less sweet, as our bartenders are very accomplished and do this for our guests regularly. Just let your server know and we will take care of it. Hope to see you soon!

Best,

Robert Kilby - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We always loved Simon&Seafort's for it's outstanding service and great food.
So it became a tradition for us to have dinner on our anniversary. As always, we requested a table by the window, the view is just amazing. Our table was decorated with rose paddles, anyone of the staff walking by (and some guests) congratulated us. Nice touch.
Halibut and Salmon meals were exquisite, from presentation to flavor. And if you like onion soup, don't forget to order one. It's most likely the best onion soup you'll find "North of 60"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AkTourguiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you very much for the positive review, and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary. It makes our day to know we were able to make your special day even more special. Please stop in and see us again soon!

Cheers,

Robert Kilby - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Okay so we circle the block 3 times the wife and I trying to find parking finally we figure that part of it out. Then we arrive and the place is some what packed we did mange to get a table fairly quick..There were alot of families with small childern and large parties there.almost like atyour local fast food place without the high prices I know that its in Alaska and Anchorge and everything is more money here.
Then the waiter arrives who was very well schooled on the menu. We order have some drinks which were as much as the the food so I order the halibut cheeks which were good but the side was a couple of sprigs of asparugus and that was okay ,But was not nearly enough food for the price nor my appetite The Total bill for 2 drinks and the entres was plus a tip was $120.
I think over all it was okay but nothing really special I eaten In alot of high end places but this was Just okay Nothing to write to mom about!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoadWarrior196209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for the review. Please accept our apologies for not informing you that we offer free validated parking at the Captain Cook parking garage just a half block away. I'm glad to hear the service was good, but it is certainly disappointing to hear that your meal was anything less than perfect. Rest assured we will use this feedback to improve, and we hope you will come in and give us another chance to "wow" you.

Best,

Robert Kilby - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing