We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to our last night in Anchorage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill

Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th and 5th
Transit: We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.
Description: Daily Happy Hour: 3-6pm & 9-Close. Known by the locals simply as "Simon's," we are an Anchorage landmark with beautiful panoramic views overlooking Cook Inlet of Mount Susitna and the Alaska Range giving guests a true Alaska dining experience. Our classic American grill has been artfully serving quality USDA prime-aged steak, fresh and innovative seafood since 1978. Chef James Sheppard has worked at Simon & Seafort's for 16 years and is an expert at preparing Alaska seafood. Crab stuffed Alaska halibut, Asiago crusted Halibut Cheeks, Wild Alaska salmon and rock salt roasted prime rib. Take advantage of our two hours of validated parking in the Captain Cook garage and enjoy a daily lunch, dinner or perhaps a special business or romantic occasion in our inviting and spacious dining room. Join our longtime friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests and see why we are known locally for the best view and best seafood in Anchorage.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our last night in Anchorage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had been travelling with friends for 3 weeks and our landlady suggested Simon & Seaforts for dinner on our last night to celebrate. The decor was very nicely done, the staff friendly and helpful, the food was awesome. It was once of the best meals we had overall during our trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    445
    164
    69
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Halibut with Macadamia nuts is out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Simon and Seaforts has to be one of the top 3 restaurants in Anchorage, and judging by the queues on expectant clients, a very popular and successful one. The oysters rockerfeller are the tastiest I have eaten anywhere, don't expect big oysters they are not like that in Alaska. Try their cocktails they are spectacular. Their piece de resistance is the Macadamia stuffed Halibut, world class. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Halibut Cheeks - who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We walked from the Captain Cook hotel with directions, which was good because S & S is tucked away in an office building. Once we opened the door and smelled the aromas, we knew we were in the right place. Small tiles on the floors and other decor reminded me of a New Orleans eatery. Service was excellent, rose petals sprinkled on the table in celebration of our anniversary. Hot bread, wonderful entrees. I had a combination of stuffed Halibut and the Halibut cheeks - amazing! The key lime pie was light and delicious. The beginnings of sunset over the water topped off the evening, then a stroll along the streets and waterside. A lovely last evening in Alaska.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles,Missouri
Level Contributor
304 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food,amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We walked to restaurant from our hotel, and had difficulty recognizing it as such, bypassing it the first time and walking down to the park till we smelled good food smells up the hill. Service was top notch with hot bread coming with our wine. Calamari was loosely breaded,and lost most of the breading on the plate. It was the first time we had ever had fried artichokes along with it, and we would not order again. The clam chowder was average. We ordered the halibut cheeks on the advice of a couple who frequent this establishment and say they are the best. Fish was light,served on broccolini with smashed red potatoes....good, not great for the price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sattelite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
297 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Reservations essential for this popular Downtown eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Joined friends for dinner hear in Sept 2013 - when they went to book all that was left was 5:45 and when we arrived we could see why - the place was packed. Nice views over the bay with an atmosphere somewhere between a busy pub and a nice restaraunt - busy and noisy but not overwhelming.

Service was fast and friendly - we started with some cocktails (good range and price) and a shared tasting platter of shrimp, artichoke dip and mini cordon bleu - delightful. There was also complementary sourdough brought to the table. For mains we all tried versions of halibut - cheeks, stuffed and grilled - very satisfying. For desert some shared key lime pie - again fresh and delicious.

Not cheap at just on $100 per couple but if you are looking for good food, slick service without a stuffy fancy restaraunt atmosphere - do your self a favor and book yourself a table at Simon & Seaforts!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing