We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill

Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th and 5th
Transit: We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.
Description: Daily Happy Hour: 3-6pm & 9-Close. Known by the locals simply as "Simon's," we are an Anchorage landmark with beautiful panoramic views overlooking Cook Inlet of Mount Susitna and the Alaska Range giving guests a true Alaska dining experience. Our classic American grill has been artfully serving quality USDA prime-aged steak, fresh and innovative seafood since 1978. Chef James Sheppard has worked at Simon & Seafort's for 16 years and is an expert at preparing Alaska seafood. Crab stuffed Alaska halibut, Asiago crusted Halibut Cheeks, Wild Alaska salmon and rock salt roasted prime rib. Take advantage of our two hours of validated parking in the Captain Cook garage and enjoy a daily lunch, dinner or perhaps a special business or romantic occasion in our inviting and spacious dining room. Join our longtime friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests and see why we are known locally for the best view and best seafood in Anchorage.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you haven't tried Simon & Seafort's, you need to go! We ate in the Saloon last night, beautiful view and nice ambiance. The Halibut Cheeks were incredibly tasty, Surf & turf outstanding, cedar wrapped salmon delicious & steak salad great! Sauces that came with entree's were incredible. Had a slight timing issue with appetizers and ended up being treated to dessert. Wow - desserts were amazing. Bread pudding & bourbon sauce, Chocolate cake with "melt in your mouth" chocolate sauce, Cheesecake, and mixed berry cobbler were all amazing! As we shared bites, our faces told the story - amazing taste!! Service was excellent, pleasant and attentive. It was a great night & can't wait to go back. Kudos to the Chef's & staff!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheersAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    445
    164
    69
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Service both at the bar and at dinner was great. Appetizer and main course was phenomenal. No complaints, seafood at its finest, overall it was terrific experience as usual..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a great meal, good service, incredible view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only a block from my office, so we go here fairly often, I have never been disappointed. Although fresh fish (Sockeye and Chinook salmon, and halibut, are most common) normally grabs my attention, their prime rib and steaks are also very good. Their salads and appetizers are a bit expensive but very good. Desserts are another top attraction. Personally, I always have burnt cream, they have many other really good selections, many of which I have tried when other members of my family have offered samples.

A couple suggestions: order local fresh fish (salmon and halibut) simply grilled, rather than getting the more exotic preparation that's probably listed on the menu. Order the vegetables you like, rather than just taking what's listed for your entree. And if you're on a budget, go early and get a three course meal for a reasonable price at "first seating."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

When we made our reservation, we told them we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. As a surprise, our table was strewn with red rose petals. Be certain to save room for their delicious bread pudding -- the best I have ever eaten!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank madgeMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great views, but the quality ends there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I not mind paying top dollar for food, but if the service and quality aren't there, it drives me crazy.

Dined here recently with a large party. We were in town for a short time, and wanted some drinks and a good meal after spending a week in remote Alaska cooking for ourselves.

To their credit, they gave us a great table immediately, with a beautiful view overlooking the water. Drinks were good, but service left something to be desired. One of the apps was left off. Many Drinks took several requests, and the food was overlooked across the board.

Ordered surf and turf, medium rare. The shrimp and scallop on top were hard as a rock, and dry as a desert. Steak (despite perfect seasoning and sauce) was medium and leaning towards med-well. If I'm paying forty something dollars for a steak, I want it cooked properly, and I don't think that's an unreasonable request.

Bottom line, things weren't done well, and nothing was done to remedy except for a cursory apology. If I owned a restaurant and had a large party come in, I would make darn sure they had a good experience, as opposed to just relying on the auto tip to appease my servers and letting them leave dissatisfied.

It bugs me in tourist towns when places cater to the one and done crowd, assuming that since many people are in town for a short period of time, there will always be more tourists to fill the unhappy ones shoes.





Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank justin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing