We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My experience of staying at this Motel 6 is as I expected - big, clean, basic room.
I had a good sleep while on a short stay here, however, my friend who is more of a light sleeper find some trouble doing so because there is little noise that could be heard during the night. And yes, I believe animals are allowed since I heard a dog barking in the morning. That does not bother me, but it may affect other guests.
Airport shuttle to hotel is available if one doesnt have a rental car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
26
35
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions because it is one of the cheapest hotels in the area, especially in the summer. The most recent visit will be our last. They advertise that pets are allowed and canbe left in the room if in a crate. When we arrived we were told that the dog could not be left in the room at all. This meant that in August we had to take our dog in the car everywhere. Thankfully it was cloudy and not too warm so she was OK, but definitely not the ideal. Beds were really soft on the last trip and could not get comfortable at all. Rooms are very small. Wifi was not available. Called the front desk and they were not at all helpful.The clincher for us not returning was seeing a mouse by the elevators on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovin-the-Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for two separate nights during a trip to Alaska this August. The location is approximately half way between Ted Stevens and downtown Anchorage. Courtesy shuttles were prompt and the trip to the city is about a $15 taxi ride. As for dining options, there's a restaurant in the neighbouring Crowne Plaza. A few other options exist in the mall across the main road. Wi-Fi worked perfectly well in the room, which was clean and spacious. Considering the hotel prices in Alaska in summer, this place served the purpose between flights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, I will share your comments with our team.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel close to the airport to spend 1 night at prior to renting an RV in Anchorage. This fit the bill. Not fancy or new but close, clean and comfortable enough. Plenty of places around to get some food.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for the top floor at the end of the hall or you may hear people walking above whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_in_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, MN.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in this motel for 2 nights. Very basic Motel 6, small room, two beds, bathroom. Room was clean, beds were okay, pillows terrible. Shocking to pay $150/night for a basic Motel 6 room, but everything in Alaska is expensive. I understand that most things need to be shipped into Alaska, but certainly not motel rooms! Used the laundry room with no issues. For $150/night, it might be nice if they included a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It always good to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a Plain Jane hotel, but the room was clean and comfortable and that is what really counts. There are several vending machines and a small laundry room. Coffee available 24/7, but no breakfast. There is no workout room and definitely no pool. HOWEVER, I was very happy that the cable channels included Disney and Nick since I had my kids with me. All the prices in Anchorage are over inflated during the summer making the $150 I paid for this very basic room seem like highway robbery, but as I said, all the hotels are inflated and there is not much to choose from under $200 per night in the summer. Would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6millersalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hop your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff was excellent, very friendly. The rooms are average, clean and a bit overpriced for a Motel 6, but whatever the market will bear, I guess. We stayed one night in Anchorage mainly to stock up on supplies for the rest of our Alaskan vacation. No complaints. We slept well, didn't hear other guests or outside noises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feed back.

Thank you again, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.9 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#43 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
2.9 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
2.0 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#46 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
1.9 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#35 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Property: Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel 6
Anchorage Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing