We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Caesar Salad is still alive !”
Review of Marx Brothers Cafe

Marx Brothers Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Marx Brothers Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 878 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: F Street
Description: Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Cafe specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
484 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“The Real Caesar Salad is still alive !”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have eaten here twice in the past few years since then they have refreshed the dining room and it works !

We were sitting in a meeting and someone brought up Marx Cafe and real caesar salad, the conference quickly swung to making reservations that night !

Needless to say they know how to do the real deal when it comes to the salad but that's not all they do well.I had the Halibut others Pheasant and steak All really well prepared and served.

Try the King Crab Cake app. whoa !!

Well versed wine list to which we took exercised with three various bottles of red, properly stored and presented.

A must eat !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    37
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and poor service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We planned to end our stay in Anchorage with a special dinner at Marx Brothers Cafe. Our decision to eat here was based on reviews in travel articles. We were disappointed! Service was continuously offered, however the level of service and the way it was delivered was robotic, did not seem genuine, at times was abrupt. One server, when asked about particular items on the menu, gave little information about the item and always replied "you'll love it" (how would HE know what food we love and don't love). We felt patronised.

Entrees (main courses) were served very quickly - we all had the halibut. All but one of us enjoyed the dish. One of us felt the macadamia crust was too thick and therefore the flavour of the fish could not be enjoyed. A server arrived at the table and without even asking if we had finished, she removed a dinner plate from one of us who had finished, and then proceeded to grab a second dinner plate, even though three of us had not even finished eating. She did not apologise when we told her we hadn't finished. She just walked off with the one finished meal plate. Another server arrived a short time afterwards, picked up the next two empty plates and left one person still eating. In my long experience working within the hospitality industry in five star hotels, this is a 'no no'. We were stunned that this happened in such a 'high quality' cafe.

Our four desserts (all mediocre) arrived and were immediately followed by the server placing the check on the table with the comment "when you're ready". At this stage we realised we were being hurried out of the restaurant. This became more evident when we began to leave the table, at which point a server pushed in front of two of us and hurriedly cleared the table, making it almost impossible for us to get out of an already crowded space. No apology was offered. At no point were we told that we were on a time limit, but we had the strong sense of being rushed through our meal.

A disappointing experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful, high-end dinner”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant is situated in an old home near the water. The food was delicious and the ambience was sophisticated. We really enjoyed a great dinner there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Alaska”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a memorable meal here in Anchorage near the end of our 10 day trip to Alaska. Marx Brothers is a lovely, quiet, friendly restaurant within easy walking distance of downtown hotels. The kind crab cake appetizer was outstanding, as was the pheasant breast and the halibut with macadamia crust. It is expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best Romantic Dinner in Anchorage”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Marx Brothers is in a beautiful old home on the waterfront in the heart of downtown. The owners make you feel welcome immediately. The food is fresh, and has a classic flair. The owner offers classes on food and wine pairing, as well as making his famous caesar salad. We have taken both classes and found them entertaining, educational, and delicious. Be warned: the wine flows freely, and you should not drive afterward. Luckily, we can walk to the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marx Brothers Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Marx Brothers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing