We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the fried rice”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 878 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 8th and L street
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Try the fried rice”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

They have the best fried rice ever. And spicy chicken. I love the food, but the service kind of sucks. The people that work there don't seem to have personalities. I wish I could combine Kobe's chefs with benihanas food. Then it would be perfect.

Note to benihana *hire Kobe's chefs ;) or give your staff a couple of shots of vodka before work so they loosen up... Jk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EODWife88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is like the Mcdonald's of the sushi restaurants here in Anchorage. The only thing I like about Benihana is being seated with strangers.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank allthatslovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great special family occasion locale”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We went to Benihana earlier this month (May 2012) after a multi-year absence, for a triple birthday party. It was just like we remembered in terms of good food, and the younger members of the party really enjoyed the 'cooking show.'

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfalfaAnchorageAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a celebration”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were in Anchorage for college graduation and wanted to make reservations somewhere to celebrate afterwards. Benihanas did not disappoint. Two people in our group of six have severe allergies to shellfish and they were very accommodating, cooking their food on the clean grill before cooking anyone else's with seafood. The food was good, the chef was funny and overall it was a very entertaining evening and a great place for the celebration.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastTexGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
267 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good Place To Eat”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Cool Show and Good Food. Comparing to Benihana in California, it's TAX EXEMPT! Also, lunch special is such a goooooood price that only took you around 20 after tax. You should try it, it's not like the restaurants with normal hotels...It's a famous and good restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing